Humanities books

5988862 books were found.

The Making of Christian Malta: From the Early Middle Ages to 1530

The Making of Christian Malta: From the Early Middle...

Author: Anthony Luttrell
ISBN: 9781138704756
Format: Paperback
$62.99

 Read More >>

On Fairness

On Fairness

Author: Craig L Carr
ISBN: 9781138712393
Format: Paperback
$58.99

This title was first published in 2000: A systematic analysis of the concept of fairness as a moral notion. The...  Read More >>

China, Taiwan and the Offshore Islands: Together with an Implication for Outer Mongolia and Sino-Soviet Relations

China, Taiwan and the Offshore Islands: Together with...

Author: Thomas E. Stolper
ISBN: 9781138895225
Format: Paperback
$73.99

 Read More >>

Revival: Genre and Void (2003): Looking Back at Sartre and Beauvoir

Revival: Genre and Void (2003): Looking Back at Sartre...

Author: Max Deutscher
ISBN: 9781138709577
Format: Paperback
$58.99

This book was first published in 2003: Developing a reading of some of Beauvoir's and Sartre's most influential...  Read More >>

Perspectives on Civil Religion: Volume 3

Perspectives on Civil Religion: Volume 3

Author: Gerald Parsons
ISBN: 9781138727052
Format: Paperback
$58.99

This volume has been compiled primarily with the needs of Open University undergraduate students in mind. However,...  Read More >>

Revival: Philosophy, Psychoanalysis and the Origins of Meaning (2001): Pre-Reflective Intentionality in the Psychoanalytic View of the Mind

Revival: Philosophy, Psychoanalysis and the Origins...

Author: David Snelling
ISBN: 9781138734692
Format: Paperback
$108.00

 Read More >>

Revival: Women of the Bible (1935)

Revival: Women of the Bible (1935)

Author: Wilhelmina Stitch
ISBN: 9781138566309
Format: Paperback
$90.99

 Read More >>

Safehold

Safehold

Author: Ann Hostetler
ISBN: 9781680270105
Format: Paperback
$28.33

In her title poem Safehold, Ann Hostetler speaks of building the frail coracle / of words which has become this...  Read More >>

Live After Death: Freedom in the Kingdom

Live After Death: Freedom in the Kingdom

Author: Cobus Van Der Walt
ISBN: 9780648155768
Format: Paperback
$38.68

Surely all human beings have always been in doubt and must have been asking questions, with no clear answers, what...  Read More >>

Leaves: Tales of Development

Leaves: Tales of Development

Author: Miles Wortman ,  The Frontispiece
ISBN: 9781732800304
Format: Hardback
$72.45

In the tradition of Graham Greene, Conrad and Paul Theroux, Leaves presents a highly original mixture of memoir...  Read More >>

Ceremonial Synagogue Textiles: From Ashkenazi, Sephardi, and Italian Communities

Ceremonial Synagogue Textiles: From Ashkenazi, Sephardi,...

Author: Bracha Yaniv ,  Yohai Goell
ISBN: 9781906764180
Format: Hardback
$168.19

 Read More >>

The Folklore of Cornwall: The Oral Tradition of a Celtic Nation

The Folklore of Cornwall: The Oral Tradition of a Celtic...

Author: Ronald M. James
ISBN: 9780859894708
Format: Hardback
$116.44

 Read More >>

Narrative of the Life and Adventures of Henry Bibb, An American Slave, Written by Himself

Narrative of the Life and Adventures of Henry Bibb,...

Author: Henry Bibb ,  Lucius C. Matlack
ISBN: 9781469647586
Format: Paperback
$36.49

Henry Bibb (1815-1854) was born to an enslaved woman named Mildred Jackson in Shelby County, Kentucky. His father...  Read More >>

Mary Lincoln for the Ages

Mary Lincoln for the Ages

Author: Jason Emerson
ISBN: 9780809336753
Format: Paperback
$43.06

 Read More >>

Lynching and Mob Violence in Ohio, 1772-1938

Lynching and Mob Violence in Ohio, 1772-1938

Author: David Meyers ,  Elise Meyers Walker
ISBN: 9781476673417
Format: Paperback
$58.32

During the period 1771-1938, hundreds of acts of mob violence took place within the bounds of Ohio. Many of these...  Read More >>

The German Failure in Belgium, August 1914: How Faulty Reconnaissance Exposed the Weakness of the Schlieffen Plan

The German Failure in Belgium, August 1914: How Faulty...

Author: Dennis Showalter, ,  Joseph P. Robinson
ISBN: 9781476674629
Format: Paperback
$65.69

Demonstrates that it was structural failures at the sharp end that frustrated the Germans in the First Worls War's...  Read More >>

A Deadly Wind: The 1962 Columbus Day Storm

A Deadly Wind: The 1962 Columbus Day Storm

Author: John Dodge
ISBN: 9780870719288
Format: Paperback
$29.12

A Deadly Wind is a deeply researched historical account of the most powerful non-tropical windstorm to ever strike...  Read More >>

A Companion to Ancient Philosophy

A Companion to Ancient Philosophy

Author: Sean D Kirkland ,  Eric Sanday
ISBN: 9780810137868
Format: Paperback
$58.32

Offers a collection of essays on a range of themes and figures spanning the period extending from the Pre-Socratics...  Read More >>

The 22nd Michigan Infantry and the Road to Chickamauga

The 22nd Michigan Infantry and the Road to Chickamauga...

Author: John Cohassey
ISBN: 9781476671666
Format: Paperback
$51.09

 Read More >>

Philosophy as Agon: A Study of Plato's Gorgias and Related Texts

Philosophy as Agon: A Study of Plato's Gorgias and Related...

Author: Robert Metcalf
ISBN: 9780810137974
Format: Paperback
$51.02

Offers a fresh interpretation of Plato's dialogues as dramatic texts whose philosophy is not so much a matter of...  Read More >>

Magic in the Modern World: Strategies of Repression and Legitimization

Magic in the Modern World: Strategies of Repression...

Author: Edward Bever ,  Randall Styers
ISBN: 9780271077789
Format: Paperback
$51.02

A collection of essays on various aspects of the position of magic in the modern world. Essays explore the ways...  Read More >>

Philosophers of the Warring States: A Sourcebook in Chinese Philosophy

Philosophers of the Warring States: A Sourcebook in...

Author: Kurtis Hagen ,  Steve Coutinho
ISBN: 9781554810673
Format: Paperback
$81.51

 Read More >>

Sub Categories for
Humanities
Summer Reading Guides

 

  

Shopping Cart
Your cart is empty
Shopping cart
Mailing List