The Nancys pink cover with eyes
 
Our June Book of the Month
The Nancys
by R.W.R. McDonald

 “I really didn't want this fun to end. There are no comparisons, this is an original, page-to-page ticklish, campy romp through contemporary New Zealand! Forget long-winded scenic descriptions and hello exciting characters, dirty puns and a fun-filled, Nancy Drew-style mystery. This is gold! Tippy Chan is eleven. When her mum wins a cruise, Uncle Pike arrives from Sydney with Devon his fashionista boyfriend in tow, to look after her. During which, her best friend ends up in hospital and her teacher is murdered. With a shared love of Nancy Drew, Tippy, Pike & Devon form The Nancys (complete with stylish t-shirts designed by Devon) and set out to investigate. But it all gets very real when people they love and admire come under suspicion. Tippy stands firm, remembering Nancy’s advice “everyone is a suspect.”" - Dean

"Goddamn, I love me a nutty murder mystery romp. Sassy dialogue dominates the narrative, which gently builds momentum until, two-thirds of the way through (and very late at night), the story intensified and I could not put this book down. This is a gleeful crime fiction debut with a satisfying balance of campy warmth and murdery darkness, perfect for fans of authors like Lisa Lutz." - Kate

 "RWR McDonald has given Nancy Drew a camp and fabulous makeover! This small town murder mystery is not what you’d expect; modern and rollicking fun (while also having moments of sweet tenderness). While the book revolves around the investigation of the detective trio, at the heart of the story is a lesson about being who you are, no matter how different. Before reading it I honestly didn’t think this was ‘my kind of book’ but from the first page in I was utterly charmed by its fresh take on the genre and the gorgeous cast of characters found inside." - Lucy H


 
Our June Kids' Book of the Month
Young Dark Emu
By Bruce Pascoe

From the multiple award-winning Dark Emu, which is essential reading for all Australians, comes Young Dark Emu for younger readers. Using simpler language, clear explanations and gorgeous illustrations, Bruce Pascoe uncovers the truer history of Aboriginal Australia and the bigotry that has underpinned European misconceptions of indigenous culture. Recommended for ages 10+ but it is sure to be enjoyed by children and adults alike. - Lucy H

$24.99

 

Our June Kids' Book of the Month

Leonard Doesn't Dance

by Judy Watson

All the birds are excited about the Big Beaky Bird Ball - except Leonard. His warblewarble waltz with the magpies is more wobble-wobble, and his caw-caw can-can with the crows is a can’t-can’t. The puffins are prancing, the rosellas are rocking and you should see the flamingo go-go-go! Everyone is jumping and jiving, but not Leonard.

“I think this blurb is the first one I’ve read that does absolute justice to the book! This is a brilliant, hilarious picture book that will have you tapping your toes and dancing away your woes!” - Olivia

$24.99

Australian Fiction  
Hitch
Add to Cart
A Lifetime of Impossible Days
Add to Cart
The White Girl
Add to Cart
The Electric Hotel
Add to Cart
Fiction  
Diary of a Somebody
Add to Cart
The Tenth Muse
Add to Cart
On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous
Add to Cart
You Will Be Safe Here
Add to Cart
Young Adult  
Not the Girls You'Re Looking for
Add to Cart
When the Ground is Hard
Add to Cart
Laura Ingalls is Ruining My Life
Add to Cart
The Hand, the Eye and the Heart
Add to Cart
Children's Books  
Tom Gates: Mega Make and Do and Stories Too
Add to Cart
Now That's a Hat!
Add to Cart
Wojtek the Warrior: The little Bear who went to War
Add to Cart
Extraordinary Birds
Add to Cart
Cooking  
Sushi Master: An expert guide to sourcing, making and enjoying sushi at home
Add to Cart
Fresh Veggie BBQ: All-natural & delicious recipes from the grill
Add to Cart
The Power of Sprinkles: A Cake Book by the Founder of Flour Shop
Add to Cart
Round to Ours: Setting the mood and cooking the food: menus for every gathering
Add to Cart
Biography  
Before I Forget
Add to Cart
Stay Sexy and Don't Get Murdered: The Definitive How-To Guide From the My Favorite Murder Podcast
Add to Cart
The Queen: The gripping true tale of a villain who changed history
Add to Cart
The League of Extraordinarily Funny Women: 50 Trailblazers of Comedy
Add to Cart

Flowers in a Vase on top of a stack of books on a catalogue cover
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

 

capture

Head to our events website to book tickets to our upcoming events 


 book clubs

 

We have a number of exciting book clubs to suit every taste - learn more here