The Nancys pink cover with eyes
 
Our June Book of the Month
The Nancys
by R.W.R. McDonald

 “I really didn't want this fun to end. There are no comparisons, this is an original, page-to-page ticklish, campy romp through contemporary New Zealand! Forget long-winded scenic descriptions and hello exciting characters, dirty puns and a fun-filled, Nancy Drew-style mystery. This is gold! Tippy Chan is eleven. When her mum wins a cruise, Uncle Pike arrives from Sydney with Devon his fashionista boyfriend in tow, to look after her. During which, her best friend ends up in hospital and her teacher is murdered. With a shared love of Nancy Drew, Tippy, Pike & Devon form The Nancys (complete with stylish t-shirts designed by Devon) and set out to investigate. But it all gets very real when people they love and admire come under suspicion. Tippy stands firm, remembering Nancy’s advice “everyone is a suspect.”" - Dean

"Goddamn, I love me a nutty murder mystery romp. Sassy dialogue dominates the narrative, which gently builds momentum until, two-thirds of the way through (and very late at night), the story intensified and I could not put this book down. This is a gleeful crime fiction debut with a satisfying balance of campy warmth and murdery darkness, perfect for fans of authors like Lisa Lutz." - Kate

 "RWR McDonald has given Nancy Drew a camp and fabulous makeover! This small town murder mystery is not what you’d expect; modern and rollicking fun (while also having moments of sweet tenderness). While the book revolves around the investigation of the detective trio, at the heart of the story is a lesson about being who you are, no matter how different. Before reading it I honestly didn’t think this was ‘my kind of book’ but from the first page in I was utterly charmed by its fresh take on the genre and the gorgeous cast of characters found inside." - Lucy H


 
Our June Kids' Book of the Month
Young Dark Emu
By Bruce Pascoe

From the multiple award-winning Dark Emu, which is essential reading for all Australians, comes Young Dark Emu for younger readers. Using simpler language, clear explanations and gorgeous illustrations, Bruce Pascoe uncovers the truer history of Aboriginal Australia and the bigotry that has underpinned European misconceptions of indigenous culture. Recommended for ages 10+ but it is sure to be enjoyed by children and adults alike. - Lucy H

$24.99

 

Our June Kids' Book of the Month

Leonard Doesn't Dance

by Judy Watson

All the birds are excited about the Big Beaky Bird Ball - except Leonard. His warblewarble waltz with the magpies is more wobble-wobble, and his caw-caw can-can with the crows is a can’t-can’t. The puffins are prancing, the rosellas are rocking and you should see the flamingo go-go-go! Everyone is jumping and jiving, but not Leonard.

“I think this blurb is the first one I’ve read that does absolute justice to the book! This is a brilliant, hilarious picture book that will have you tapping your toes and dancing away your woes!” - Olivia

$24.99

Australian Fiction  
The Accusation
Add to Cart
Room for a Stranger
Add to Cart
After She Left
Add to Cart
A Lovely and Terrible Thing
Add to Cart
Fiction  
Crossings
Add to Cart
Frankissstein: A Love Story
Add to Cart
The Porpoise
Add to Cart
Paul Takes the Form of A Mortal Girl
Add to Cart
Young Adult  
The Tattooist of Auschwitz - YA Edition
Add to Cart
Birthday
Add to Cart
Dev1at3: Lifel1k3 2 (Deviate: Lifelike 2)
Add to Cart
The Witch of Salt and Storm
Add to Cart
Children's Books  
Secrets of a Schoolyard Millionaire
Add to Cart
Playing with Collage
Add to Cart
Claris: Fashion Show Fiasco: The Chicest Mouse in Paris
Add to Cart
Bedlam
Add to Cart
Cooking  
Gloriously Gluten Free: Sweet Treats, Cakes, Tarts and Desserts
Add to Cart
We Are La Cocina: Recipes in Pursuit of the American Dream
Add to Cart
Saffron in the Souks: Vibrant recipes from the heart of Lebanon
Add to Cart
The Godfather: The Corleone Family Cookbook
Add to Cart
Biography  
Bitcoin Billionaires: A True Story of Genius, Betrayal and Redemption
Add to Cart
How Death Becomes Life: Notes from a Transplant Surgeon
Add to Cart
On the Other Side of Freedom: Race and Justice in a Divided America
Add to Cart
Julia Child: The Last Interview: and other conversations.
Add to Cart

Flowers in a Vase on top of a stack of books on a catalogue cover
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

 

capture

Head to our events website to book tickets to our upcoming events 


 book clubs

 

We have a number of exciting book clubs to suit every taste - learn more here