Vanishing Girls

Author:   Lauren Oliver ,  Saskia Maarleveld ,  Elizabeth Evans ,  Dan Bittner
Publisher:   HarperCollins
Edition:   Library Edition
ISBN:  

9781481533904


Publication Date:   10 March 2015
Recommended Age:   From 14 years
Format:   Audio  Audio Format
Availability:   In stock   Availability explained
We have confirmation that this item is in stock with the supplier. It will be ordered in for you and dispatched immediately.

Our Price $158.37 Quantity:  
Add to Cart

Share |

Vanishing Girls


Audio Format Add your own review!

Overview

New York Times bestselling author Lauren Oliver delivers a raw and heart-pounding story, perfect for fans of E. Lockhart's We Were Liars or Gillian Flynn's Sharp Objects. Dara and Nick used to be inseparable, but that was before the accident that left Dara's beautiful face scarred and the two sisters totally estranged. When Dara vanishes on her birthday, Nick thinks Dara is just playing around. But another girl, nine-year-old Madeline Snow, has vanished, too, and Nick becomes increasingly convinced that the two disappearances are linked. Now, Nick has to find her sister, before it's too late. In this edgy and compelling novel, Lauren Oliver creates a world of intrigue, loss, and suspicion as two sisters search to find themselves, and each other.

Full Product Details

Author:   Lauren Oliver ,  Saskia Maarleveld ,  Elizabeth Evans ,  Dan Bittner
Publisher:   HarperCollins
Imprint:   HarperCollins
Edition:   Library Edition
Dimensions:   Width: 16.50cm , Height: 3.30cm , Length: 15.50cm
Weight:   0.295kg
ISBN:  

9781481533904


ISBN 10:   1481533908
Publication Date:   10 March 2015
Recommended Age:   From 14 years
Audience:   Young adult ,  Teenage / Young adult
Format:   Audio
Publisher's Status:   Active
Availability:   In stock   Availability explained
We have confirmation that this item is in stock with the supplier. It will be ordered in for you and dispatched immediately.

Table of Contents

Reviews

Oliver is in top form in this psychological family drama that investigates the complicated nature of sisterhood. Perfect for readers who devoured We Were Liars, it's the sort of novel that readers will race to finish, then return to the beginning to marvel at how it was constructed-and at everything they missed. -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) Alarming and uplifting, a rare psychological thriller that has a kind heart at its center. Read it with all the lights on. -- E. Lockhart, author of We Were Liars Bestselling Oliver weaves a taut mystery interspersed with blog posts about Madeline's disappearance, and the story is made all the more compelling by Nick and Dara's close but troubling relationship, marked by both love and intense jealousy. -- Booklist Different as night and day, sisters Nick and Dara are practically joined at the hip...Oliver's characterizations and background stories are well developed and compulsively readable. The relationship between Nick and Dara drives the plot and is very realistic. The twist the author incorporates at the end is dramatic without being absurd and was completely unexpected. Recommend to teens looking for a well-written work with a juicy ending. They will not be disappointed. -- School Library Journal


Oliver is in top form in this psychological family drama that investigates the complicated nature of sisterhood. Perfect for readers who devoured We Were Liars, it's the sort of novel that readers will race to finish, then return to the beginning to marvel at how it was constructed-and at everything they missed. -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) Different as night and day, sisters Nick and Dara are practically joined at the hip...Oliver's characterizations and background stories are well developed and compulsively readable. The relationship between Nick and Dara drives the plot and is very realistic. The twist the author incorporates at the end is dramatic without being absurd and was completely unexpected. Recommend to teens looking for a well-written work with a juicy ending. They will not be disappointed. -- School Library Journal Bestselling Oliver weaves a taut mystery interspersed with blog posts about Madeline's disappearance, and the story is made all the more compelling by Nick and Dara's close but troubling relationship, marked by both love and intense jealousy. -- Booklist Alarming and uplifting, a rare psychological thriller that has a kind heart at its center. Read it with all the lights on. -- E. Lockhart, author of We Were Liars


Alarming and uplifting, a rare psychological thriller that has a kind heart at its center. Read it with all the lights on. -- E. Lockhart, author of We Were Liars Bestselling Oliver weaves a taut mystery interspersed with blog posts about Madeline's disappearance, and the story is made all the more compelling by Nick and Dara's close but troubling relationship, marked by both love and intense jealousy. -- Booklist Different as night and day, sisters Nick and Dara are practically joined at the hip...Oliver's characterizations and background stories are well developed and compulsively readable. The relationship between Nick and Dara drives the plot and is very realistic. The twist the author incorporates at the end is dramatic without being absurd and was completely unexpected. Recommend to teens looking for a well-written work with a juicy ending. They will not be disappointed. -- School Library Journal Oliver is in top form in this psychological family drama that investigates the complicated nature of sisterhood. Perfect for readers who devoured We Were Liars, it's the sort of novel that readers will race to finish, then return to the beginning to marvel at how it was constructed-and at everything they missed. -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)


Author Information

Lauren Oliver captivated readers with her first novel, the New York Times bestseller Before I Fall, a Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year. She followed that up with Delirium, the first book in her New York Times bestselling trilogy, which continued with Pandemonium. Oliver is also the author of Liesl & Po, a book for middle-grade readers, which received three starred reviews and was described as a gorgeous story-timeless and magical by Newbery Medal winner Rebecca Stead. A graduate of the University of Chicago and NYU's MFA program, Oliver lives in Brooklyn, New York. Saskia Maarleveld is an experienced voice-over actress and Earphones Award-winning narrator. Raised in New Zealand and France, she is highly skilled with accents and dialects, and many of her books have been narrated entirely in accents other than her own. In addition to audiobooks, her voice can be heard in animation, video games, and commercials. Elizabeth Evans has received many grants and fellowships for her writing, including an NEA Fellowship, the James Michener Fellowship, and fellowships at Yaddo and MacDowell. She is the author of The Blue Hour and lives in Tucson, Arizona. Dan Bittner is an actor and voice talent and winner of several AudioFile Earphones Awards for audio narration. He has starred on stage and on the screen, in movies such as Men in Black, Adventureland, and the Producers: The Movie Musical. He has also appeared onstage as Macbeth and Sherlock Holmes in the Edinburgh Fringe Festival. Justis Bolding was born in Green Bay, Wisconsin. She is an American actress known for her role as Sarah Roberts on One Life to Live (2007-2009). Tavia Gilbert is an acclaimed narrator of more than four hundred full-cast and multivoice audiobooks for virtually every publisher in the industry. Named the 2018 Voice of Choice by Booklist magazine, she is also an Audie Award nominee and the recipient of numerous Earphones Awards, a Voice Arts Award, and a Listen-Up Award. With frequent inclusion on best of year and annual top ten lists, she is a trusted and increasingly sought-after actress for work across every genre, from children's and YA, to literary fiction, nonfiction, and genre fiction. Audible has named her a Genre-Defining Narrator: Master of Memoir, and Library Journal said of her, as close as you can get to a full-cast narration with a solo voice. She is a producer, singer, photographer, and a writer, as well as the cofounder of a feminist publishing company, Animal Mineral, with fiction and nonfiction focusing on relationships, love, and identity. Joel Richards was the kid who did crazy things just to have a good story to tell afterward. On deciding to make his affection his profession, he received a BFA in acting and a BA in English from the University of Utah. He has narrated over 150 audiobooks and continues to tell his original stories to live audiences. Coming soon...

Tab Content 6

Author Website:  

Customer Reviews

Recent Reviews

No review item found!

Add your own review!

Countries Available

All regions
Latest Reading Guide

MDRG1

 VIEW OUR LATEST READING GUIDE HERE 

Shopping Cart
Your cart is empty
Shopping cart
Mailing List