The Miraculous Sweetmakers: The Frost Fair

Author:   Natasha Hastings ,  Alex T. Smith
Publisher:   HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN:  

9780008496081


Pages:   400
Publication Date:   26 October 2023
Recommended Age:   From 9 to 12 years
Format:   Paperback
Availability:   Not yet available   Availability explained
This item is yet to be released. You can pre-order this item and we will dispatch it to you upon its release.

Our Price $16.99 Quantity:  
Add to Cart

Share |

The Miraculous Sweetmakers: The Frost Fair


Add your own review!

Overview

‘Absolutely stunning… Real emotional depth alongside a fast-paced plot. Fantastic’ A F Steadman An amazing and captivating, curl-up-on-the-sofa debut about a magical frost fair and the lasting power of friendship, perfect for fans of Tamzin Merchant, Abi Elphinstone and Anna James. The Great Frost of 1683 has London in its icy grip. Thomasina and her best friend Anne sell sweets on the frozen Thames, amid rumours of the magical Frost Fair that awakens there at night. They say if you can find the fair, Father Winter himself will grant you any wish. And Thomasina has an impossible wish: the return of her twin brother, Arthur. But once they discover Father Winter’s kingdom, Thomasina and Anne quickly realize the Frost Fair is not what it seems – and that some wishes never come for free. ‘A heartwarming, wintry treat of a read perfect to snuggle up with on cold, snowy days’ Hannah Gold, bestselling author of The Last Bear ‘A lovely, frosty debut that combines cosy details and a pacy adventure with thoughtful explorations of grief and responsibility’ Anna James, bestselling author of the Pages & Co. series ‘This book is unputdownable’ Laura Noakes, author of Cosima Unfortunate Steals a Star ‘Deep and dark and full of atmosphere and food and so gorgeously written – everyone should pick up a copy and be whisked away to the Frost Fair’ Zohra Nabi, author of The Kingdom Over The Sea ‘Spooky and haunting’ Philippa Gregory ‘Exciting and mysterious’ The Bookseller ‘A gripping, atmospheric, fantastical tale’ Kirkus ‘Just PERFECT! A beautiful frosty tale . . . I loved it’ Emma Carroll ‘Absolutely stunning . . . Real emotional depth alongside a fast-paced plot. Fantastic’ A F Steadman

Full Product Details

Author:   Natasha Hastings ,  Alex T. Smith
Publisher:   HarperCollins Publishers
Imprint:   HarperCollins
Dimensions:   Width: 12.90cm , Height: 3.10cm , Length: 19.80cm
Weight:   0.350kg
ISBN:  

9780008496081


ISBN 10:   0008496080
Pages:   400
Publication Date:   26 October 2023
Recommended Age:   From 9 to 12 years
Audience:   Children/juvenile ,  Children / Juvenile
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active
Availability:   Not yet available   Availability explained
This item is yet to be released. You can pre-order this item and we will dispatch it to you upon its release.

Table of Contents

Reviews

'A gloriously told, wonderfully wintry debut, Hastings' beautifully evocative historical novel is set during the Great Frost of 1683 and revolves around two girls drawn into the sinister world of a mysterious conjuror' Waterstones, Books of the Year 2022 'Spooky and haunting - what struck me most about this historical fiction/fantasy story for children was the high quality of the writing' Philippa Gregory, bestselling author of The Other Boleyn Girl 'A heart-warming, wintry treat of a read perfect to snuggle up with on cold, snowy days' Hannah Gold, bestselling author of The Last Bear (Waterstones Children's Book of the Year, 2022) 'A lovely, frosty debut that combines cosy details and a pacy adventure with thoughtful explorations of grief and responsibility' Anna James, author of the Pages & Co. series 'An exciting and mysterious debut' Editor's Choice in The Bookseller 'A gripping, atmospheric, fantastical tale of atonement' Kirkus Magazine (USA) 'A great, fast-paced book full of adventure - and I feel lucky to have had my hands on a yet-to-be published copy' Books up North


Author Information

Natasha Hastings was selected to join The London Library's Emerging Writers Programme in 2019. Currently working as a fundraiser, she started developing The Frost Fair while studying History at Cambridge University, where she focused on gender and mental illness. She became determined, while exploring these topics, to have the lives of working women form the heartbeat of The Frost Fair. Alex T. Smith is an award-winning illustrator of children's books including the Claude series. He is a World Book Day Illustrator.

Tab Content 6

Author Website:  

Customer Reviews

Recent Reviews

No review item found!

Add your own review!

Countries Available

All regions
Latest Reading Guide

wl

Shopping Cart
Your cart is empty
Shopping cart
Mailing List