The Glass Hotel

Author:   Emily St. John Mandel
Publisher:   Pan Macmillan
ISBN:  

9781509882816


Pages:   256
Publication Date:   24 March 2020
Format:   Paperback
Availability:   Out of stock   Availability explained
The supplier is temporarily out of stock of this item. It will be ordered for you on backorder and shipped when it becomes available.

Our Price $29.99 Quantity:  
Add to Cart

Share |

The Glass Hotel


Add your own review!

Overview

Full Product Details

Author:   Emily St. John Mandel
Publisher:   Pan Macmillan
Imprint:   Picador
Dimensions:   Width: 15.30cm , Height: 2.30cm , Length: 23.40cm
Weight:   0.406kg
ISBN:  

9781509882816


ISBN 10:   1509882812
Pages:   256
Publication Date:   24 March 2020
Audience:   General/trade ,  General
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active
Availability:   Out of stock   Availability explained
The supplier is temporarily out of stock of this item. It will be ordered for you on backorder and shipped when it becomes available.

Table of Contents

Reviews

Station Eleven is so compelling, so fearlessly imagined, that I wouldn't have put it down for anything -- Ann Patchett, author of <i>Bel Canto</i> and <i>State of Wonder</i>,<i> </i>on <i>Station Eleven</i> Visually stunning, dreamily atmospheric and impressively gripping . . . -- <i>Guardian</i> on <i>Station Eleven</i> Disturbing, inventive and exciting, Station Eleven left me wistful for a world where I still live -- Jessie Burton, author of <i>The Miniaturist </i>on <i>Station Eleven</i> Glorious, unexpected, superbly written; just try putting it down -- <i>The Times</i> on <i>Station Eleven</i> Mandel's beautiful depiction of the survival of human culture and art in a post-apocalyptic world, Perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale -- <i>Cosmopolitan </i>on <i>Station Eleven</i>


Mandel's wonderful novel (after Station Eleven) follows a brother and sister as they navigate heartache, loneliness, wealth, corruption, drugs, ghosts, and guilt . . . This ingenious, enthralling novel probes the tenuous yet unbreakable bonds between people and the lasting effects of momentary carelessness -- <i>Publishers Weekly</i> (starred review) Station Eleven is so compelling, so fearlessly imagined, that I wouldn't have put it down for anything -- Ann Patchett, author of <i>Bel Canto</i> and <i>State of Wonder</i>,<i> </i>on <i>Station Eleven</i> Visually stunning, dreamily atmospheric and impressively gripping . . . -- <i>Guardian</i> on <i>Station Eleven</i> Disturbing, inventive and exciting, Station Eleven left me wistful for a world where I still live -- Jessie Burton, author of <i>The Miniaturist </i>on <i>Station Eleven</i> Glorious, unexpected, superbly written; just try putting it down -- <i>The Times</i> on <i>Station Eleven</i> Mandel's beautiful depiction of the survival of human culture and art in a post-apocalyptic world, Perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale -- <i>Cosmopolitan </i>on <i>Station Eleven</i>


Deeply imagined, philosophically profound . . . The Glass Hotel moves forward propulsively, its characters continually on the run . . . Richly satisfying . . . The Glass Hotel is ultimately as immersive a reading experience as its predecessor [Station Eleven], finding all the necessary imaginative depth within the more realistic confines of its world . . . Revolutionary. -- Ruth Franklin * The Atlantic * Mandel's wonderful novel (after Station Eleven) follows a brother and sister as they navigate heartache, loneliness, wealth, corruption, drugs, ghosts, and guilt . . . This ingenious, enthralling novel probes the tenuous yet unbreakable bonds between people and the lasting effects of momentary carelessness. * Publishers Weekly, starred * Another tale of wanderers whose fates are interconnected . . . nail-biting tension . . . Mandel weaves an intricate spider web of a story . . . A gorgeously rendered tragedy. * Booklist, starred * Long-anticipated . . . At its heart, this is a ghost story in which every boundary is blurred, from the moral to the physical . . . In luminous prose, Mandel shows how easy it is to become caught in a web of unintended consequences and how disastrous it can be when such fragile bonds shatter under pressure. A strange, subtle, and haunting novel. * Kirkus Reviews, starred * The bestselling author of Station Eleven returns with this tale about the relationship between a New York financier, his waiter lover, a threatening note and a mysterious disappearance -- <i>Times</i>, Best books of 2020 Mandel's wonderful novel (after Station Eleven) follows a brother and sister as they navigate heartache, loneliness, wealth, corruption, drugs, ghosts, and guilt . . . This ingenious, enthralling novel probes the tenuous yet unbreakable bonds between people and the lasting effects of momentary carelessness -- <i>Publishers Weekly</i> (starred review) No one can create beautiful, enmeshed, startlingly clever worlds the way Mandel does. A new novel by her is a cause for enormous, tumultuous celebration -- Daisy Johnson, author of <i>Everything Under</i>


Author Information

Emily St. John Mandel was born in Canada and studied dance at The School of Toronto Dance Theatre. She is the author of the novels Last Night in Montreal, The Singer's Gun, The Lola Quartet and Station Eleven and is a staff writer for The Millions. She is married and lives in New York.

Tab Content 6

Author Website:  

Customer Reviews

Recent Reviews

No review item found!

Add your own review!

Countries Available

All regions
Latest Reading Guide

 

MD

Shopping Cart
Your cart is empty
Shopping cart
Mailing List