Jane Goes North

Author:   Joe R Lansdale ,  Kasey Lansdale
Publisher:   Blackstone Publishing
Edition:   Library Edition
ISBN:  

9781094072685


Publication Date:   30 June 2020
Format:   Audio  Audio Format
Availability:   In Print   Availability explained
This item will be ordered in for you from one of our suppliers. Upon receipt, we will promptly dispatch it out to you. For in store availability, please contact us.

Our Price $129.36 Quantity:  
Add to Cart

Share |

Jane Goes North


Audio Format Add your own review!

Overview

Jane has lost her job at the laundry due to a ketchup package she forgot to remove from an expensive item, and her prospects look dim. To top off matters, her younger sister, who lives up north, and who Jane has problems with, is getting married and has mailed her an invitation that Jane believes was sent due to her sister not expecting her to be able to come. A long bout of sibling rivalry makes Jane all the more determined to go, even if her car has gone to hell. To make the journey, Jane forms an uncomfortable alliance with a grumpy, one-eyed, weight-lifting lady named Henry, who may or may not abandon her along the way, and has plans to see a doctor Henry claims can renew her sight. Add past memories of a sexual dalliance with a drunk preacher in the back lot of the church across from her house; an infamous naked run along a creek bank; failed marriages, including an ex-husband that has a bit of goat ardor; and with a shoe full of money; Jane and Henry hit the road. They meet up with modern slavers, panty snatchers, disabled thieves with a sense of grandeur, a country singer named Cheryl who is on the downhill slide, and a quest for the world's greatest toaster that can toast four slices of bread all at once, or in sequence, and has a clock on it. It's one incredible quest consisting of rides in cow trailers, a stolen car, and a convertible, a pirate outfit for children, and what will become a unique friendship.

Full Product Details

Author:   Joe R Lansdale ,  Kasey Lansdale
Publisher:   Blackstone Publishing
Imprint:   Blackstone Publishing
Edition:   Library Edition
ISBN:  

9781094072685


ISBN 10:   1094072680
Publication Date:   30 June 2020
Audience:   General/trade ,  General
Format:   Audio
Publisher's Status:   Active
Availability:   In Print   Availability explained
This item will be ordered in for you from one of our suppliers. Upon receipt, we will promptly dispatch it out to you. For in store availability, please contact us.

Table of Contents

Reviews

Lansdale reinvents the road-trip novel with a pair that make Thelma and Louise seem like rank amateurs...Laced with steely-eyed observations on the condition of working-class America, profanity-laden dialogue, and the occasional confessional between two women on a mission, Jane Goes North is a doggedly grounded tale with moments of real heart. -- Booklist Outrageous wit, memorably quirky characters, and comical situations...Fans of Lansdale's Hap and Leonard crime novels won't want to miss this one. -- Publishers Weekly The escapades of these two outspoken women couldn't be any more outrageous. Lansdale follows his latest Hap and Leonard installment, The Elephant of Surprise, with this over-the-top picaresque novel. The crude humor and quirky characters will appeal to the author's fans. -- Library Journal


The escapades of these two outspoken women couldn't be any more outrageous. Lansdale follows his latest Hap and Leonard installment, The Elephant of Surprise, with this over-the-top picaresque novel. The crude humor and quirky characters will appeal to the author's fans. -- Library Journal Outrageous wit, memorably quirky characters, and comical situations...Fans of Lansdale's Hap and Leonard crime novels won't want to miss this one. -- Publishers Weekly Lansdale reinvents the road-trip novel with a pair that make Thelma and Louise seem like rank amateurs...Laced with steely-eyed observations on the condition of working-class America, profanity-laden dialogue, and the occasional confessional between two women on a mission, Jane Goes North is a doggedly grounded tale with moments of real heart. -- Booklist


Author Information

Joe R. Lansdale is the author of over thirty novels and numerous short stories. He has received the Edgar Award, more than fifteen Bram Stoker Awards, a Critics' Choice Award, and many others. His novella Bubba Ho-Tep was adapted to film by Don Coscarelli. Kasey Lansdale, first published at the tender age of eight by Random House, is the author of several short stories and novellas, as well as the editor of assorted anthology collections, including Subterranean Press' Impossible Monsters. She is best known as a singer/songwriter. Most recently, you can hear Lansdale as the narrator of various works, including George R. R. Martin's Aces Abroad, and George A. Romero's final installment, Nights of the Living Dead.

Tab Content 6

Author Website:  

Customer Reviews

Recent Reviews

No review item found!

Add your own review!

Countries Available

All regions
Latest Reading Guide
spring2
Shopping Cart
Your cart is empty
Shopping cart
Mailing List