Boon Island: Including Contemporary Accounts of the Wreck of the Nottingham Gallery

Author:   Kenneth Roberts ,  Jack Bales ,  Richard Warner
Publisher:   University Press of New England
ISBN:  

9780874517446


Pages:   385
Publication Date:   31 March 1995
Format:   Paperback
Availability:   Awaiting stock   Availability explained


Our Price $52.67 Quantity:  
Add to Cart

Share |

Boon Island: Including Contemporary Accounts of the Wreck of the Nottingham Gallery


Add your own review!

Overview

This classic tale of shipwreck and survival is reprinted in a new edition, with essays that provide a historical perspective and trace the sources from which Kenneth Roberts (1885-1957) drew his tale. A native Mainer, Roberts, whose historical novels include Northwest Passage and Arundel, was intrigued by the story of the December 1710 wreck of the Nottingham. After running aground a dozen miles offshore, the ship broke up, stranding her crew with minimal tools, scant shelter, and a few pieces of cheese. The men survived nearly a month of screeching gales, sub-freezing temperatures, and driving snowstorms. During their ordeal they resorted to cannibalism and were finally rescued after one of them made it ashore on a crude raft. Included here are contemporary accounts from crew members, offering dramatically different versions of the true-life traumatic event and a fascinating counterpoint to Roberts' fictionalized version. A bestseller when published in 1956, Boon Island is a story of the ways that crisis can inspire the best--and worst--in human nature.

Full Product Details

Author:   Kenneth Roberts ,  Jack Bales ,  Richard Warner
Publisher:   University Press of New England
Imprint:   University Press of New England
Dimensions:   Width: 14.00cm , Height: 2.80cm , Length: 21.60cm
Weight:   0.544kg
ISBN:  

9780874517446


ISBN 10:   0874517443
Pages:   385
Publication Date:   31 March 1995
Audience:   College/higher education ,  General/trade ,  Undergraduate ,  General
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Unknown
Availability:   Awaiting stock   Availability explained

Table of Contents

Reviews

One of those experiences in reading which . . . can never be forgotten . . . Roberts has added a dimension of his own to the theme of men against the sea. New York Herald Tribune


In the tradition of Treasure Island, Robinson Crusoe, and the Bounty trilogy . . . Once you've read this powerful story the barren rocky island will become part of your inner consciousness--you'll never forget it. -- Saturday Review A tale for those who love high adventure, heroism, and the triumphant grandeur of the human soul -- Baltimore Evening Sun One of those experiences in reading which . . . can never be forgotten . . . Roberts has added a dimension of his own to the theme of men against the sea. -- New York Herald Tribune One of those experiences in reading which . . . can never be forgotten . . . Roberts has added a dimension of his own to the theme of men against the sea. New York Herald Tribune A tale for those who love high adventure, heroism, and the triumphant grandeur of the human soul Baltimore Evening Sun In the tradition of Treasure Island, Robinson Crusoe, and the Bounty trilogy . . . Once you ve read this powerful story the barren rocky island will become part of your inner consciousness you ll never forget it. Saturday Review


Author Information

The editors are at Mary Washington College where JACK BALES is Reference Librarian and author of two books on Kenneth Roberts and RICHARD WARNER is Professor of History.

Tab Content 6

Author Website:  

Customer Reviews

Recent Reviews

No review item found!

Add your own review!

Countries Available

All regions
Shopping Cart
Your cart is empty
Shopping cart
Mailing List