KATE 

 

June Book of the Month

Psykhe

By Kate Forsyth 

If you have never read the story of Eros and Psykhe, let Kate’s reimagining be an incredible introduction. Even if you have, this retelling is so engaging, immersive and above all gives deserved agency to Psykhe. Falling in love with a man the Gods forbid her to see, she must travel to the underworld to save him and try to return alive! This perilous tale is a ballad to the triumphant power of love, hope and a celebration of female power and determinism. Whilst staying true to the original myth you can feel Kate’s gentle and artistic influence throughout the novel that makes this so enjoyable to read. - Angus


$34.99

sh

June ILF Book of the Month 

Finding Eliza
By Larissa Behrendt

When Finding Eliza was first released in 2016, it became an instant staff favourite and featured in our ‘Stella Sparks’ promotion for the Stella Prize. We wholeheartedly believe that it is the perfect addition to the First Nations Classics collection. In unpacking and deconstructing the damaging legend of Eliza Fraser, who was allegedly captured by the Butchulla people, Behrendt interrogates the ways that stories such as this have been used for colonialist propaganda and racist sensationalism. Of particular interest were sections on the role of women in Aboriginal and white societies, the discussion of Coonardoo and the chapter on cannibalism in colonial narratives. Both a very readable work of storytelling and a compelling exploration of the depiction of Indigenous people in colonial tales both here and abroad, I can’t wait for this gem and work of truth-telling to find a whole new audience in 2024. - Steph

$24.95 

 
LN
 
June Kids Book of the Month
Liars Test 
By Ambelin Kwaymullina

I’m a sucker for a YA dystopian fantasy with a strong heroine. With rich worldbuilding inspired by First Nations culture, Liar’s Test ticks all the boxes and then some. Bell Silverleaf – the heroine in question – has been held captive by the sun priests and moon sisters of the Risen since she was eleven. Survival hasn’t been easy for Bell or the other Treesingers after their home was invaded by the Risen and their gods over a century ago. Now, after years in captivity, Bell has been selected to compete in the deadly Queen’s Test to decide who rules for the next twenty-five years. With the crown comes the power to secure the freedom of the Treesingers, yet all is not as it seems. The ensuing narrative is epic, fast-paced, and laced with many twists and turns. Plus, it ticks the romance box which doesn’t hurt! - Carolina

$19.99
 
Australian Fiction  
Every Last Suspect: The gripping new thriller novel from the bestselling author of YOU NEED TO KNOW, for fans of Sally Hepworth, Nina Simon and Jessie Stephens
Add to Cart
The Skeleton House
Add to Cart
Hurdy Gurdy
Add to Cart
Mrs Hopkins
Add to Cart
Fiction  
Sandwich
Add to Cart
Parade
Add to Cart
Hera: Bow down to the Queen of Mount Olympus
Add to Cart
Mrs Gulliver
Add to Cart
Young Adult  
Six More Months of June: The Must-Read Romance of the Summer!
Add to Cart
Father of the Lost Boys: Young Readers Edition
Add to Cart
Everything We Never Said
Add to Cart
The Only Light Left Burning: The astounding sequel to All That's Left in the World
Add to Cart
Middle-Grade Fiction  
Pinch Perkins and the Midsummer Curse
Add to Cart
Queen of Dogs
Add to Cart
The Wrong Shoes: The vital new novel from the bestselling creator of Big Bright Feelings
Add to Cart
Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
Add to Cart
Cooking  
Thai Home Cooking: 100 recipes with steps and tips for easy, authentic Thai food
Add to Cart
Asian Vegetables: A Cook's Bible: Descriptions and Illustrations of 139 Vegetables, Including Dried and Preserved Varieties with 145 Authentic Recipes
Add to Cart
The Wanderlust Creamery Presents: The World of Ice Cream
Add to Cart
Something Sweet: 100+ Gluten-Free Recipes for Delicious Desserts
Add to Cart
Biography  
The Bookshop Woman: The Smash-Hit Japanese Bestseller
Add to Cart
Fragile Creatures: A Memoir
Add to Cart
My Father's Suitcase: A story of family secrets, abuse, betrayal - and breaking free
Add to Cart
Grief is for People: A Memoir
Add to Cart
Australian Non-Fiction  
Personal Politics: Sexuality, Gender and the Remaking of Citizenship in Australia
Add to Cart
John Bsst: Bohemian artist and saviour of reef and rainforest
Add to Cart
Making Animals Public: Inside the ABC's natural history archive
Add to Cart
My Efficient Electric Home Handbook: How to slash your energy bills, protect your health & save the planet
Add to Cart
Non-Fiction  
How babies are made.
Add to Cart
My Teeth
Add to Cart
The Fran Lebowitz Reader: The Sunday Times Bestseller
Add to Cart
Gay Life Stories
Add to Cart
Lifestyle  
Jagun: A First Nations Colouring Book
Add to Cart
The Laws of Connection: The Scientific Secrets of Building a Strong Social Network
Add to Cart
The Selby Comes Home: An Interior Design Book for Creative Families
Add to Cart
Hot Girl Crochet: Fun & easy crochet projects, from bags to bikinis
Add to Cart
Art  
18th Adelaide Biennial of Australian Art: Inner Sanctum
Add to Cart
Protest Art
Add to Cart
Travelling with Vincent - Van Gogh in Drenthe
Add to Cart
Gift Voucher Icon
 

wl

Better Read Than Dead

265 King St
Newtown 2042 NSW Australia 

Monday - Saturday: 9.30am - 9pm 

Sunday: 10am - 7pm 

Ph: (02) 9557 8700

Email: books@betterread.com.au

If you would like to purchase a book, you can order from our website and collect at the shop when your order is ready. You can also call us on (02) 9557 8700, email us at books@betterread.com.au or message us on social media. 

JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Better Read Events


 


Please see our Better Read Events website for information about upcoming events and book clubs.