LIMBS

 

July Book of the Month

Language of Limbs 

By Dylin Hardcastle 

Dylin Hardcastle’s charged third novel follows two Sapphic young women as they navigate the pyretic 1970s in Australia. On utterly different paths, one towards an openly queer life, the other away from one, these two women run concentric circles around each other, at times only spitting distance apart. This novel is full to the brim with heart and intention, spanning over three decades of queer passion, mentorship, and culture. Hardcastle doesn’t shy away from stretching the form of the novel, finding, losing, and remaking it in moments of striking imagery. - Leona


$34.99

REFUGIA

July ILF Book of the Month 

Refugia 
By Elfie Shiosaki

Anyone who knows me at all will not be shocked by me announcing that I cried while reading this book.
This is the kind of writing that is so overwhelming beautiful while being a kick to the stomach that makes poetry so incredible, weaving the state of rivers to the state of the country. Framing indigenous rights and the country that we could have against archival footage of the British Invasion, Elfie (she made me cry so we’re on a first name basis) takes the opportunity to rewrite history, discover starlight, and made me wonder what could have been while staring at the footnotes. -Lexie

$27.99 

 
ARABELLA
 
July Kids Book of the Month
Arabella 
By Carmel Bird 

A very shy cat, who has learned to be frightened of everything, lives all day and all night in a cupboard under the stairs. Then a bold new cat arrives. What will happen now? Will he just scare her out of her wits?
Here is the story of timid Arabella and vigorous George who persists in his plan to make friends and coax the shy one out into the open.
This rhyming, engaging tale tells of the power of kindness to cancel the terrors of the past. There is fear, overcome by gentleness and understanding. Underlying the charming story is the reality of a traumatised creature gradually learning to conquer the shadows of yesterday, and to face the future with courage and joy. 

$25.00
 
Australian Fiction  
Hurdy Gurdy
Add to Cart
Mrs Hopkins
Add to Cart
Every Last Suspect: The gripping new thriller novel from the bestselling author of YOU NEED TO KNOW, for fans of Sally Hepworth, Nina Simon and Jessie Stephens
Add to Cart
The Skeleton House
Add to Cart
Fiction  
Parade
Add to Cart
Sandwich
Add to Cart
Hera: Bow down to the Queen of Mount Olympus
Add to Cart
Mrs Gulliver
Add to Cart
Young Adult  
Six More Months of June: The Must-Read Romance of the Summer!
Add to Cart
Father of the Lost Boys: Young Readers Edition
Add to Cart
The Only Light Left Burning: The astounding sequel to All That's Left in the World
Add to Cart
Everything We Never Said
Add to Cart
Middle-Grade Fiction  
Pinch Perkins and the Midsummer Curse
Add to Cart
The Wrong Shoes: The vital new novel from the bestselling creator of Big Bright Feelings
Add to Cart
Queen of Dogs
Add to Cart
Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
Add to Cart
Cooking  
Asian Vegetables: A Cook's Bible: Descriptions and Illustrations of 139 Vegetables, Including Dried and Preserved Varieties with 145 Authentic Recipes
Add to Cart
The Wanderlust Creamery Presents: The World of Ice Cream
Add to Cart
Thai Home Cooking: 100 recipes with steps and tips for easy, authentic Thai food
Add to Cart
Something Sweet: 100+ Gluten-Free Recipes for Delicious Desserts
Add to Cart
Biography  
The Bookshop Woman: The Smash-Hit Japanese Bestseller
Add to Cart
Fragile Creatures: A Memoir
Add to Cart
My Father's Suitcase: A story of family secrets, abuse, betrayal - and breaking free
Add to Cart
Grief is for People: A Memoir
Add to Cart
Australian Non-Fiction  
Making Animals Public: Inside the ABC's natural history archive
Add to Cart
My Efficient Electric Home Handbook: How to slash your energy bills, protect your health & save the planet
Add to Cart
Personal Politics: Sexuality, Gender and the Remaking of Citizenship in Australia
Add to Cart
John Bsst: Bohemian artist and saviour of reef and rainforest
Add to Cart
Non-Fiction  
How babies are made.
Add to Cart
My Teeth
Add to Cart
The Fran Lebowitz Reader: The Sunday Times Bestseller
Add to Cart
Gay Life Stories
Add to Cart
Lifestyle  
Jagun: A First Nations Colouring Book
Add to Cart
The Laws of Connection: The Scientific Secrets of Building a Strong Social Network
Add to Cart
The Selby Comes Home: An Interior Design Book for Creative Families
Add to Cart
Hot Girl Crochet: Fun & easy crochet projects, from bags to bikinis
Add to Cart
Art  
18th Adelaide Biennial of Australian Art: Inner Sanctum
Add to Cart
Travelling with Vincent - Van Gogh in Drenthe
Add to Cart
Protest Art
Add to Cart
Gift Voucher Icon
 

wl

Better Read Than Dead

265 King St
Newtown 2042 NSW Australia 

Monday - Saturday: 9.30am - 9pm 

Sunday: 10am - 7pm 

Ph: (02) 9557 8700

Email: books@betterread.com.au

If you would like to purchase a book, you can order from our website and collect at the shop when your order is ready. You can also call us on (02) 9557 8700, email us at books@betterread.com.au or message us on social media. 

JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Better Read Events


 


Please see our Better Read Events website for information about upcoming events and book clubs.