The Honest Truth about Dishonesty: How We Lie to Everyone--Especially Ourselves

Author:   Dr Dan Ariely
Publisher:   Harper Perennial
ISBN:  

9780062183613


Pages:   336
Publication Date:   18 June 2013
Format:   Paperback
Availability:   Not yet available   Availability explained
This item is yet to be released. You can pre-order this item and we will dispatch it to you upon its release.

Our Price $39.57 Quantity:  
Add to Cart

Share |

The Honest Truth about Dishonesty: How We Lie to Everyone--Especially Ourselves


Add your own review!

Overview

Dan Ariely, behavioral economist and the New York Times bestselling author of The Upside of Irrationality and Predictably Irrational, examines the contradictory forces that drive us to cheat and keep us honest, in this groundbreaking look at the way we behave: The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty. From ticket-fixing in our police departments to test-score scandals in our schools, from our elected leaders' extra-marital affairs to the Ponzi schemes undermining our economy, cheating and dishonesty are ubiquitous parts of our national news cycle--and inescapable parts of the human condition. Drawing on original experiments and research, in the vein of Freakonomics, The Tipping Point, and Survival of the Sickest, Ariely reveals--honestly--what motivates these irrational, but entirely human, behaviors.

Full Product Details

Author:   Dr Dan Ariely
Publisher:   Harper Perennial
Imprint:   Harper Perennial
Dimensions:   Width: 13.60cm , Height: 2.00cm , Length: 20.30cm
Weight:   0.254kg
ISBN:  

9780062183613


ISBN 10:   0062183613
Pages:   336
Publication Date:   18 June 2013
Audience:   General/trade ,  General
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active
Availability:   Not yet available   Availability explained
This item is yet to be released. You can pre-order this item and we will dispatch it to you upon its release.

Table of Contents

Reviews

I was shocked at how prevalent mild cheating was and how much more harmful it can be, cumulatively, compared to outright fraud. This is Dan Ariely's most interesting and most useful book. --Nassim Nicholas Taleb, author of <i>The Black Swan</i>


Ariely raises the bar for everyone. In the increasingly crowded field of popular cognitive science and behavioral economics, he writes with an unusual combination of verve and sagacity. --Washington Post


Captivating and astute. . . . In his characteristic spry, cheerful style, Ariely delves deep into the conundrum of human (dis)honesty in the hopes of discovering ways to help us control our behavior and improve our outcomes. --Publishers Weekly Through a remarkable series of experiments, Ariely presents a convincing case. . . . Required reading for politicians and Wall Street executives. --Booklist I thought [Ariely's] book was an outstanding encapsulation of the good hearted and easygoing moral climate of the age. --David Brooks, the New York Times The best-selling author's creativity is evident throughout. . . . A lively tour through the impulses that cause many of us to cheat, the book offers especially keen insights into the ways in which we cut corners while still thinking of ourselves as moral people. --Time.com Ariely raises the bar for everyone. In the increasingly crowded field of popular cognitive science and behavioral economics, he writes with an unusual combination of verve and sagacity. --Washington Post I was shocked at how prevalent mild cheating was and how much more harmful it can be, cumulatively, compared to outright fraud. This is Dan Ariely's most interesting and most useful book. --Nassim Nicholas Taleb, author of The Black Swan Dan Ariely ingeniously and delightfully teases out how people balance truthfulness with cheating to create a reality out of wishful-blindness reality. You'll develop a deeper understanding of your own personal ethics--and those of everybody you know. --Mehmet Oz, MD; Vice-Chair and Professor of Surgery at Columbia University and host of The Dr. Oz Show Anyone who lies should read this book. And those who claim not to tell lies are liars. So they sould read this book too. This is a fascinating, learned, and funny book that will make you a better person. --A.J. Jacobs, author of The Year of Living Biblically and Drop Dead Healthy


Ariely raises the bar for everyone. In the increasingly crowded field of popular cognitive science and behavioral economics, he writes with an unusual combination of verve and sagacity. --Washington Post I thought [Ariely's] book was an outstanding encapsulation of the good hearted and easygoing moral climate of the age. --David Brooks, the New York Times The best-selling author's creativity is evident throughout. . . . A lively tour through the impulses that cause many of us to cheat, the book offers especially keen insights into the ways in which we cut corners while still thinking of ourselves as moral people. --Time.com Through a remarkable series of experiments, Ariely presents a convincing case. . . . Required reading for politicians and Wall Street executives. --Booklist Captivating and astute. . . . In his characteristic spry, cheerful style, Ariely delves deep into the conundrum of human (dis)honesty in the hopes of discovering ways to help us control our behavior and improve our outcomes. --Publishers Weekly I was shocked at how prevalent mild cheating was and how much more harmful it can be, cumulatively, compared to outright fraud. This is Dan Ariely's most interesting and most useful book. --Nassim Nicholas Taleb, author of The Black Swan Dan Ariely ingeniously and delightfully teases out how people balance truthfulness with cheating to create a reality out of wishful-blindness reality. You'll develop a deeper understanding of your own personal ethics--and those of everybody you know. --Mehmet Oz, MD; Vice-Chair and Professor of Surgery at Columbia University and host of The Dr. Oz Show Anyone who lies should read this book. And those who claim not to tell lies are liars. So they sould read this book too. This is a fascinating, learned, and funny book that will make you a better person. --A.J. Jacobs, author of The Year of Living Biblically and Drop Dead Healthy


Author Information

Dan Ariely is the bestselling author of Predictably Irrational, The Upside of Irrationality, and The (Honest) Truth About Dishonesty. He is the James B. Duke Professor of Psychology and Behavioral Economics at Duke University and is the founder of the Center for Advanced Hindsight. His work has been featured in the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, the Boston Globe, and elsewhere. He lives in North Carolina with his family.

Tab Content 6

Author Website:  

Customer Reviews

Recent Reviews

No review item found!

Add your own review!

Countries Available

All regions
Shopping Cart
Your cart is empty
Shopping cart
Mailing List