The Believer: Encounters with Love, Death & Faith

Author:   Sarah Krasnostein
Publisher:   Text Publishing
ISBN:  

9781922330208


Pages:   336
Publication Date:   02 March 2021
Format:   Paperback
Availability:   In stock   Availability explained
We have confirmation that this item is in stock with the supplier. It will be ordered in for you and dispatched immediately.

Our Price $34.99 Quantity:  
Add to Cart

Share |

The Believer: Encounters with Love, Death & Faith


Add your own review!

Overview

The second book by the bestselling, award-winning author of The Trauma Cleaner. With her trademark compassion, observational rigour and unique humanity, Sarah Krasnostein takes us into the lives of people who believe in something extraordinary, despite the odds. This book is about ghosts and gods and flying saucers; certainty in the absence of knowledge; how the stories we tell ourselves to deal with the distance between the world as it is and as we'd like it to be can stunt us or save us. From award-winning author Sarah Krasnostein comes an exploration of the power of belief. What do we believe? Who do we believe? Why do we believe? Sarah Krasnostein spent the last four years in Australia and the US talking to some extraordinary people-people holding fast to belief, even as it rubs against the grain of more accepted realities. Some of them believe in things most people don't. Ghosts. UFOs. Heaven and the Devil. The literal creation of the universe in six days. Some of them believe in things most people would like to. Dying with autonomy. Spending half your life in prison for protecting your child and yet still believing in a just God. In this intensely personal and gorgeously written new book Krasnostein, the bestselling, multi-award-winning author of The Trauma Cleaner, talks with her trademark compassion and empathy to these believers-and finds out what happens when their beliefs crash into her own.

Full Product Details

Author:   Sarah Krasnostein
Publisher:   Text Publishing
Imprint:   The Text Publishing Company
Dimensions:   Width: 15.50cm , Height: 2.70cm , Length: 23.40cm
Weight:   0.490kg
ISBN:  

9781922330208


ISBN 10:   1922330205
Pages:   336
Publication Date:   02 March 2021
Audience:   General/trade ,  General
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active
Availability:   In stock   Availability explained
We have confirmation that this item is in stock with the supplier. It will be ordered in for you and dispatched immediately.

Table of Contents

Reviews

'The author has the rare combination of skills that allows her to not only build enough trust and rapport with her interview subjects that they will reveal intimate details about their lives, but to also distil a person down to their essence and put that on the page in a way that is simultaneously informative, sensitive and enthralling...the true strength of The Believer is in each compellingly rendered story...Readers who liked The Trauma Cleaner or Ramona Koval's A Letter To Layla will find much to appreciate in The Believer.' * Books+Publishing * ' [A] one-of-a-kind biography.' * Marilyn Stasio, New York Times Book Review Summer Reading Guide on The Trauma Cleaner * 'Wields emotion, truth and reality with one-of-a-kind dexterity.' * Elle Australia on The Trauma Cleaner * 'Krasnostein is a master storyteller of creative non-fiction and I am in awe.' * Sarah Schmidt, author of See What I Have Done, on the The Trauma Cleaner * 'It will always be on my Top Ten List of Most Extraordinary Non-Fiction Books Ever.' * David Kirby, Best Books of 2018, LitHub on The Trauma Cleaner * The Trauma Cleaner is a disturbing and fascinating read with a heavy, beating heart at its centre...[Krasnostein] shows how a writer can empathise and engage with a subject yet still paint a realistic portrait.' * Australian on The Trauma Cleaner *


' [A] one-of-a-kind biography.' * Marilyn Stasio, New York Times Book Review Summer Reading Guide on The Trauma Cleaner * 'Wields emotion, truth and reality with one-of-a-kind dexterity.' * Elle Australia on The Trauma Cleaner * 'Krasnostein is a master storyteller of creative non-fiction and I am in awe.' * Sarah Schmidt, author of See What I Have Done, on the The Trauma Cleaner * 'It will always be on my Top Ten List of Most Extraordinary Non-Fiction Books Ever.' * David Kirby, Best Books of 2018, LitHub on The Trauma Cleaner * The Trauma Cleaner is a disturbing and fascinating read with a heavy, beating heart at its centre...[Krasnostein] shows how a writer can empathise and engage with a subject yet still paint a realistic portrait.' * Australian on The Trauma Cleaner *


Author Information

Sarah Krasnostein is a writer. She is admitted to legal practice in Australia and America, and holds a doctorate in criminal law. She is the best-selling author of The Trauma Cleaner, which won the Victorian Prize for Literature, the Victorian Premier's Prize for Non-Fiction, the Australian Book Industry Award for Non-Fiction and the Dobbie Literary Award. It jointly won the Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-Fiction at the NSW Premier's Literary Awards, was longlisted for the Walkley Book Award and was shortlisted for the National Biography Award, the Melbourne Prize for Literature and the Wellcome Book Prize (UK). Her work has appeared in a variety of publications and academic journals in Australia, the UK and America.

Tab Content 6

Author Website:  

Customer Reviews

Recent Reviews

No review item found!

Add your own review!

Countries Available

All regions
Shopping Cart
Your cart is empty
Shopping cart
Mailing List