Tender: A Cook and His Vegetable Patch

Author:   Nigel Slater ,  Jonathan Lovekin
Publisher:   Ten Speed Press
ISBN:  

9781607740377


Pages:   618
Publication Date:   26 April 2011
Format:   Hardback
Availability:   In Print   Availability explained
This item will be ordered in for you from one of our suppliers. Upon receipt, we will promptly dispatch it out to you. For in store availability, please contact us.

Our Price $58.39 Quantity:  
Add to Cart

Share |

Tender: A Cook and His Vegetable Patch


Add your own review!

Overview

A comprehensive, deeply personal, and visually stunning guide to growing and cooking vegetables from Britain's foremost food writer, with more than 400 recipes and extensive gardening notes. In the tradition of Roast Chicken and Other Stories comes Tender, a passionate guide to savoring the best the garden has to offer. An instant classic when it was first published in the UK, Tender is a cookbook, a primer on produce, and above all, a beloved author's homage to his favorite vegetables. Slater's inspired and inspiring writing makes this a book to sit with and savor as much as one to prop open in the kitchen. The chapters explore 29 vegetables and offer enticing, comforting recipes such as Potato Cakes with Chard and Taleggio, a Tart of asparagus and Tarragon, and Grilled Lamb with Eggplant and Za'atar. With wit, enthusiasm, and a charming lack of pretension, Slater champions vegetables--through hands-on nurturing in the garden and straightforward preparations in the kitchen--with this truly essential book for every kitchen library.

Full Product Details

Author:   Nigel Slater ,  Jonathan Lovekin
Publisher:   Ten Speed Press
Imprint:   Ten Speed Press
Dimensions:   Width: 17.90cm , Height: 5.30cm , Length: 24.40cm
Weight:   1.760kg
ISBN:  

9781607740377


ISBN 10:   1607740370
Pages:   618
Publication Date:   26 April 2011
Audience:   General/trade ,  General
Format:   Hardback
Publisher's Status:   Active
Availability:   In Print   Availability explained
This item will be ordered in for you from one of our suppliers. Upon receipt, we will promptly dispatch it out to you. For in store availability, please contact us.

Table of Contents

Reviews

Not only is Nigel Slater one of the greatest living food writers, he's also the ultimate urban gardener. His latest book, Tender, just might inspire you to tear up your lawn and get planting. <br>--Bon Appetit, August 2011 <br> A seriously hefty and seriously engaging homage to the garden, from one of Britain's foremost food authorities. <br>--NYTimes.com, Summer Cookbook Roundup, 6/2/11 <br> Tender is pleasing in so many ways. For cooks it's filled with glorious vegetable-centric recipes, for gardeners it's an insightful and personal story about just how much a garden can mean, and for those who just enjoy reading about food, well, you're going to love getting acquainted with Nigel Slater. <br>--Serious Eats, Cook the Book, 5/23/11 <br> But the crowning glory of Tender is Mr. Slater's own prose, even when treating of something as lowly as the autumnal cabbage--each dark-green leaf of which somehow seems as if it will fend off our winter ills. Elephant ears of crinkledC


Nigel Slater's Tender is a rich tale of one man's passion for cultivating, cooking, and eating from the garden. His sensuous and delicious recipes make us want to run right into the kitchen and start cooking. But even if you never set a foot in your garden or turn on the stove, it is a great, inspiring read. @lt;br@gt;--Christopher Hirsheimer and Melissa Hamilton, authors of @lt;i@gt;Canal House Cooking@lt;/i@gt;@lt;br@gt;@lt;i@gt; @lt;/i@gt;@lt;br@gt; As a second-floor city-dweller with no patch of land to call my own, a glimpse into Nigel Slater's garden sanctuary makes me ache for a small plot of good dirt, preferably just off a kitchen, to grow some of what I eat. Nigel captures the small moments--the rituals, sights, and smells--that are part of the cycle of growing, cooking, eating, and sharing, culminating in a collection of vibrant, bold yet approachable recipes. A rare treasure. @lt;br@gt;--Heidi Swanson, author of @lt;i@gt;Super Natural Cooking@lt;/i@gt;@lt;br@gt;@lt;i@gt;


Tender is pleasing in so many ways. For cooks it's filled with glorious vegetable-centric recipes, for gardeners it's an insightful and personal story about just how much a garden can mean, and for those who just enjoy reading about food, well, you're going to love getting acquainted with Nigel Slater. <br>--Serious Eats, Cook the Book, 5/23/11 <br> But the crowning glory of Tender is Mr. Slater's own prose, even when treating of something as lowly as the autumnal cabbage--each dark-green leaf of which somehow seems as if it will fend off our winter ills. Elephant ears of crinkled green, sparkling with dew; black plumes of cavolo nero like feathers on a funeral horse, and the dense, ice crisp flesh of red cabbage. Strong flavors indeed. Strong, yes, but also tenderly enticing, as guests at Mr. Slater's latest literary feast will discover. <br>--The Wall Street Journal, Bookshelf, 4/23/11 <br> The best Brit you've never heard of. . . . Nigel Slater is who you'd get if you c


New York Times Notable Cookbook of 2011 <br> a valentine to produce <br>--Mother Jones, Favorite Cookbooks of 2011, 12/3/11 <br> Little about TENDER, British writer Nigel Slater's quietly epic cookbook about preparing vegetables, feels designed for the American consumer. The author's preoccupations are so personal, so drawn from the quotidian pleasures of tending his small garden in London, that they feel far removed from the celebrity-penned, diet-driven, ego-tripping cookbooks that dominate U.S. bestseller lists. . . . Slater, in other words, is an obsessive, but one whose obsession seems to stop in the kitchen. Slater has too much respect for all involved -- the ingredient, the reader, the joy of discovery in the kitchen -- to want to serve as your nanny. He'd rather play your mentor, the kind who wants you to love the messy process, not just the finished dish, which, come to think of it, you'll love, too. These easy-to-execute dishes go down just as easy. It all makes you l


But the crowning glory of Tender is Mr. Slater's own prose, even when treating of something as lowly as the autumnal cabbage--each dark-green leaf of which somehow seems as if it will fend off our winter ills. Elephant ears of crinkled green, sparkling with dew; black plumes of cavolo nero like feathers on a funeral horse, and the dense, ice crisp flesh of red cabbage. Strong flavors indeed. Strong, yes, but also tenderly enticing, as guests at Mr. Slater's latest literary feast will discover. <br>--The Wall Street Journal, Bookshelf, 4/23/11 <br> The best Brit you've never heard of. . . . Nigel Slater is who you'd get if you combined Alice Waters with Mark Bittman: a garden-to-table advocate whose goal in life is to make people love fresh produce and cooking because they are - gasp - fabulous and fun and do not have to be fussy in the slightest.<br>--The Christian Science Monitor, 4/19/11 <br> Nigel Slater's Tender is a rich tale of one man's passion for cultivating, cookin


Nigel Slater's Tender is a rich tale of one man's passion for cultivating, cooking, and eating from the garden. His sensuous and delicious recipes make us want to run right into the kitchen and start cooking. But even if you never set a foot in your garden or turn on the stove, it is a great, inspiring read. <br>--Christopher Hirsheimer and Melissa Hamilton, authors of Canal House Cooking <br> <br> As a second-floor city-dweller with no patch of land to call my own, a glimpse into Nigel Slater's garden sanctuary makes me ache for a small plot of good dirt, preferably just off a kitchen, to grow some of what I eat. Nigel captures the small moments--the rituals, sights, and smells--that are part of the cycle of growing, cooking, eating, and sharing, culminating in a collection of vibrant, bold yet approachable recipes. A rare treasure. <br>--Heidi Swanson, author of Super Natural Cooking <br> <br> A home garden isn't just the best source of the ultimately fresh. It's also the pla


Author Information

Nigel Slater is the author of a collecion of bestselling books including the classics Real Fast Food, Appetite, and the critically acclaimed The Kitchen Diaries. He has written a much-loved column for The Observer for seventeen years. His memoir, Toast --The Story of a Boy's Hunger, has won six major awards, including British Biography of the Year. Visit www.nigelslater.com.

Tab Content 6

Author Website:  

Customer Reviews

Recent Reviews

No review item found!

Add your own review!

Countries Available

All regions
Spring Reading Guide

 

Spring Reading Guide catalogue for book recommendations

Shopping Cart
Your cart is empty
Shopping cart
Mailing List