How to Talk About Climate Change in a Way That Makes a Difference

Author:   Rebecca Huntley
Publisher:   Murdoch Books
ISBN:  

9781760525361


Pages:   304
Publication Date:   02 July 2020
Format:   Paperback
Availability:   Not yet available   Availability explained
This item is yet to be released. You can pre-order this item and we will dispatch it to you upon its release.

Our Price $32.99 Quantity:  
Pre-Order

Share |

How to Talk About Climate Change in a Way That Makes a Difference


Add your own review!

Overview

'The antidote to climate anxiety is action. Make your first action reading this book.' OSHER GUNSBERG 'Rebecca Huntley has given us a great gift: an essential guide to understanding ourselves and each other as we face the climate crisis. Let's take down the walls that divide us. Collectively, with compassion and courage, we can make real change happen.' KYLIE KWONG 'Explains whether and how we will choose to solve the climate problem. Immensely important analysis in a great read.' PROFESSOR ROSS GARNAUT A self-help book for the climate era, for readers of Ross Garnaut, Tim Flannery, Hugh Mackay Why is it so hard to talk about climate change? While scientists double down on the shocking figures, we still find ourselves unable to discuss climate change meaningfully among friends and neighbours - or even to grapple with it ourselves. The key to progress on climate change is in the psychology of human attitudes and our ability to change. Whether you're already alarmed and engaged with the issue, concerned but disengaged, a passive skeptic or an active denier, understanding our emotional reactions to climate change - why it makes us anxious, fearful, angry or detached - is critical to coping on an individual level and convincing each other to act. This book is about understanding why people who aren't like you feel the way they do and learning to talk to them effectively. What we need are thousands - millions - of everyday conversations about the climate to enlarge the ranks of the concerned, engage the disengaged and persuade the cautious of the need for action.

Full Product Details

Author:   Rebecca Huntley
Publisher:   Murdoch Books
Imprint:   Murdoch Books
Weight:   0.380kg
ISBN:  

9781760525361


ISBN 10:   1760525367
Pages:   304
Publication Date:   02 July 2020
Audience:   General/trade ,  General
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Forthcoming
Availability:   Not yet available   Availability explained
This item is yet to be released. You can pre-order this item and we will dispatch it to you upon its release.

Table of Contents

Introduction: A change of heart, or How I became emotional about climate change Chapter 1: The problem with reason, or Why we need to stop arguing about science Chapter 2: Start being emotional, or The importance of feelings over facts Chapter 3: Green girls, or What we can learn from teens about how to talk about climate Chapter 4: Guilt, or My plastic coffee cup killed the green sea turtle Chapter 5: Fear, or Do wildfires change minds and votes? Chapter 6: Anger is my frenemy Chapter 7: Denial, or The need to be innocent Chapter 8: Despair, or The support group at the end of the world Chapter 9: Hope, or How to get out of bed in the morning Chapter 10: Loss, or Bury me in a carbon sink Chapter 11: Love, or Do it for the birds Conclusion: It's the right time to talk about climate change Acknowledgments Notes Further reading and resources Index

Reviews

Author Information

Rebecca Huntley is one of Australia's most experienced social researchers and former director of The Mind and Mood Report, the longest running measure of the nation's attitudes and trends. She holds degrees in law and film studies and a PhD in gender studies, and is a mum to three young children. It was realising she is part of the problem older generation that caused her change of heart and to dedicate herself to researching our attitudes to climate change. She is a member of Al Gore's Climate Reality Corps, carries out social research for NGOs such as The Wilderness Society and WWF, and writes and presents for the ABC. This is her sixth book.

Tab Content 6

Author Website:  

Customer Reviews

Recent Reviews

No review item found!

Add your own review!

Countries Available

All regions
Latest Reading Guide

 

MD

Shopping Cart
Your cart is empty
Shopping cart
Mailing List