Girls on the Home Front: An inspiring wartime story of friendship and courage

Author:   Annie Clarke
Publisher:   Cornerstone
ISBN:  

9781787462571


Pages:   464
Publication Date:   07 May 2019
Format:   Paperback
Availability:   To order   Availability explained
Stock availability from the supplier is unknown. We will order it for you and ship this item to you once it is received by us.

Our Price $16.99 Quantity:  
Add to Cart

Share |

Girls on the Home Front: An inspiring wartime story of friendship and courage


Add your own review!

Overview

The first novel in the wonderful Factory Girls series. Perfect for fans of Nancy Revell and Ellie Dean. 'A brilliantly written and uplifting WWII story' Nancy Revell, author of the Shipyard Girls series ___________________________________________ August 1941- As war sweeps across Britain and millions of men enlist to serve their country, it's up to the women to fight the battle on the home front. Fran always thought she would marry her childhood sweetheart and lead a simple life in Massingham, the beloved pit village she has always called home. But with war taking so many men to the front line, the opening of a new factory in the north-east of England presents an opportunity for Fran to forge a new path. Against her father's wishes and with best friends Sarah and Beth by her side, Fran signs up to join the ranks of women at the factory. It's dangerous work but as the three friends risk life and limb for their country, they will discover that their lives are only just beginning... ___________________________________________ Look out for the next book in the series, Heroes on the Home Front, available for pre-order now!

Full Product Details

Author:   Annie Clarke
Publisher:   Cornerstone
Imprint:   Arrow Books Ltd
Dimensions:   Width: 12.90cm , Height: 2.80cm , Length: 19.80cm
Weight:   0.319kg
ISBN:  

9781787462571


ISBN 10:   1787462579
Pages:   464
Publication Date:   07 May 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  General
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active
Availability:   To order   Availability explained
Stock availability from the supplier is unknown. We will order it for you and ship this item to you once it is received by us.

Table of Contents

Reviews

A brilliantly written and uplifting WWII story. Annie's latest novel set in a north-east pit village really does draw the reader in and conveys what it must have been like to be a woman working in a munitions factory during the Second World War. The three main female characters in the novel, Fran, Sarah and Beth have to endure horrendous conditions, but they do so for the sake of their country and to help their own poverty-stricken families. Annie Clarke's descriptions of life on the home front in the tough mining village of Massingham are incredibly realistic, as is her use of the north-east vernacular. Girls on the Home Front is a story of friendship, resilience, community and courage. I'm sure this book will resonate with saga readers everywhere. -- Nancy Revell, author of the Shipyard Girls series Highlights the strength of women during the toughest of times ... Clarke's love and respect for her family's roots really shines through * Culture Fly * A delightful authentic-feeling saga * Peterborough Telegraph * A heart-warming story of friendships, love and life ... The characters were genuine and engaging, and the story was captivating. I can't wait for the next book in the series to carry on their stories * Stardust Book Reviews * What a fantastic start to what is going to be prove to be a fantastic series. Superbly written ... it draws you into the story from the word go. * Ginger Book Geek Blog *


A brilliantly written and uplifting WWII story. Annie's latest novel set in a north-east pit village really does draw the reader in and conveys what it must have been like to be a woman working in a munitions factory during the Second World War. The three main female characters in the novel, Fran, Sarah and Beth have to endure horrendous conditions, but they do so for the sake of their country and to help their own poverty-stricken families. Annie Clarke's descriptions of life on the home front in the tough mining village of Massingham are incredibly realistic, as is her use of the north-east vernacular. Girls on the Home Front is a story of friendship, resilience, community and courage. I'm sure this book will resonate with saga readers everywhere. -- Nancy Revell, author of the Shipyard Girls series


Author Information

Annie Clarke's roots are dug deep into the North East. She draws inspiration from her mother, who was born in a County Durham pit village during the First World War, and went on to became a military nurse during World War Two. Annie and her husband now live a stone's throw from the pit village where her mother was born. She has written frequently about the North East in novels which she hopes reflect her love and respect for the region's lost mining communities. Annie has four adult children and four granddaughters, who fill her and her husband's days with laughter, endlessly leading these two elders astray.

Tab Content 6

Author Website:  

Customer Reviews

Recent Reviews

No review item found!

Add your own review!

Countries Available

All regions
Mother's Day Reading Guide

 

Flowers in a vase on top of a stack of books on a catalogue cover

Shopping Cart
Your cart is empty
Shopping cart
Mailing List