F*ck Happiness

Author:   Ariel Gore
Publisher:   Black Inc.
ISBN:  

9781760641993


Pages:   192
Publication Date:   25 May 2020
Format:   Paperback
Availability:   In stock   Availability explained
We have confirmation that this item is in stock with the supplier. It will be ordered in for you and dispatched immediately.

Our Price $27.99 Quantity:  
Add to Cart

Share |

F*ck Happiness


Add your own review!

Overview

In this persuasive account blending research with personal experience, Ariel Gore explores the politics of happiness and asks how women can be smart, empowered and satisfied. Why do men have a monopoly on happiness? Happiness has become big business. Books, psychologists, consultants, and even governments promote scientific findings into it. The problem is that almost all of this science is performed by and for straight white men. And some of the most vocal of these experts suggest that women can become happier by adopting traditional gender values and eschewing feminism. Sceptical of this hypothesis, Ariel Gore immersed herself in the optimism industrial complex, combing the research, reading the history, interviewing the thinkers, and exploring her own and her friends' personal experiences and desires. The result is a nuanced, thoughtful, and inspiring account of what happiness means to women. For readers of Rebecca Solnit's Men Explain Things to Me and Barbara Ehrenreich's Bright Side, this is a provocative, persuasive look at how and why women's desires are more complex than we are led to believe.

Full Product Details

Author:   Ariel Gore
Publisher:   Black Inc.
Imprint:   Nero
Dimensions:   Width: 13.60cm , Height: 1.60cm , Length: 20.80cm
Weight:   0.234kg
ISBN:  

9781760641993


ISBN 10:   1760641995
Pages:   192
Publication Date:   25 May 2020
Audience:   General/trade ,  General
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active
Availability:   In stock   Availability explained
We have confirmation that this item is in stock with the supplier. It will be ordered in for you and dispatched immediately.

Table of Contents

Reviews

Author Information

Ariel Gore is a feminist, journalist, writer and teacher. The author of several books on parenting, feminism and queer culture, she is also the publisher of Hip Mama, an award-winning magazine covering the culture and politics of motherhood. Her writing has been described as 'eloquent, sensitive, and revolutionary' and novelist Marc Acito dubs her 'an adventurer, the Indiana Jones of literature'.

Tab Content 6

Author Website:  

Customer Reviews

Recent Reviews

No review item found!

Add your own review!

Countries Available

All regions
Latest Reading Guide

MDRG1

 VIEW OUR LATEST READING GUIDE HERE 

Shopping Cart
Your cart is empty
Shopping cart
Mailing List