Brave Ballerina: The Story of Janet Collins

Author:   Michelle Meadows ,  Ebony Glenn
Publisher:   Henry Holt & Company Inc
ISBN:  

9781250127730


Pages:   32
Publication Date:   08 January 2019
Recommended Age:   From 4 years
Format:   Hardback
Availability:   Awaiting stock   Availability explained
The supplier is currently out of stock of this item. It will be ordered for you and placed on backorder. Once it does come back in stock, we will ship it out for you.

Our Price $24.99 Quantity:  
Add to Cart

Share |

Brave Ballerina: The Story of Janet Collins


Add your own review!

Overview

Janet Collins wanted to be a ballerina in the 1930s and 40s, a time when racial segregation was widespread in the United States. Janet pursued dance with a passion, despite being rejected from discriminatory dance schools. When she was accepted into the Ballet Russe de Monte Carlo as a teenager on the condition that she paint her skin white for performances, Janet refused. She continued to go after her dreams, never compromising her values along the way. From her early childhood lessons to the height of her success as the first African American prima ballerina in the Metropolitan Opera, this is the story of a remarkable pioneer. For fans of Misty Copeland's Firebird and Javaka Steptoe's Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat.

Full Product Details

Author:   Michelle Meadows ,  Ebony Glenn
Publisher:   Henry Holt & Company Inc
Imprint:   Henry Holt & Company Inc
Dimensions:   Width: 22.60cm , Height: 1.00cm , Length: 28.60cm
Weight:   0.448kg
ISBN:  

9781250127730


ISBN 10:   1250127734
Pages:   32
Publication Date:   08 January 2019
Recommended Age:   From 4 years
Audience:   Children/juvenile ,  Children / Juvenile
Format:   Hardback
Publisher's Status:   Active
Availability:   Awaiting stock   Availability explained
The supplier is currently out of stock of this item. It will be ordered for you and placed on backorder. Once it does come back in stock, we will ship it out for you.

Table of Contents

Reviews

A Junior Library Guild Selection This is a wonderful and inspirational biography for aspiring young dancers and other athletes. --The Washington Post Collins's story is told masterfully. . . Glenn fills each page with the strength and beauty of dance, focusing on the graceful movement of Collins and her emotive expressions. This book radiates with the joy of dance. A first purchase for most collections. --School Library Journal, starred review Writing in verse is no easy task, and Meadows's text almost never stumbles, keeping metronomic time with Ebony Glenn's illustrations of soaring, spinning Janet. Glenn's digital art is full of movement . . .An enchanting biography. --Shelf Awareness, starred review The digital illustrations have the look of pen drawings, rendering a graceful dancer's body with glowing brown skin and a self-possessed face. . . A celebration of one black woman's achievements that underscores the passion and purpose that the human spirit has to offer. --Kirkus Reviews Glenn illustrates in warm yet muted digital art; dynamic spreads show Collins dancing in a red flamenco dress to the sounds of a jazz ensemble. In a final spread, Collins dances at the Metropolitan Opera House in 1951--becoming the first African-American prima ballerina to do so. Meadows offers readers an affectionate biographical story that emphasizes her subject's passion and determination. --Publishers Weekly


A Junior Library Guild Selection


Author Information

Michelle Meadows is the author of Hibernation Station, Piggies in Pajamas, and Super Bugs. She dances with her husband as much as possible. She lives in Delaware and loves to write at the beach. michellemeadows.com Ebony Glenn is an Atlanta-based illustrator who enjoys bringing stories to life with whimsical imagery. With a passion for the arts and great storytelling, she aspires to make art that will incite more beauty, wonder, and magic into people's lives. She also loves to draw ballerinas. ebonyglenn.com

Tab Content 6

Author Website:  

Customer Reviews

Recent Reviews

No review item found!

Add your own review!

Countries Available

All regions
Summer Reading Guides

 

  

Shopping Cart
Your cart is empty
Shopping cart
Mailing List