A Bloodsmoor Romance

Author:   Professor of Humanities Joyce Carol Oates (Late of Brown University)
Publisher:   Ecco Press
ISBN:  

9780062269195


Pages:   752
Publication Date:   22 October 2013
Format:   Paperback
Availability:   In stock   Availability explained
We have confirmation that this item is in stock with the supplier. It will be ordered in for you and dispatched immediately.

Our Price $44.85 Quantity:  
Add to Cart

Share |

A Bloodsmoor Romance


Add your own review!

Overview

Finally returned to print in a beautiful new trade paperback edition, comes Joyce Carol Oates' lost classic: a satirical, often surreal, and beautifully plotted Gothic Romance that follows the exploits of the audacious Zinn sisters, whose 19th century pursuit of adventurous lives turns a lens on contemporary American culture. Set in a nineteenth century similar to our own, A Bloodsmoor Romance follows the beautiful Zinn sisters, five young women who refuse--for the most part--”the obligations of Christian marriage. Full of Oates's mordant wit and breathlessly told in the Victorian style by an unnamed narrator shocked by the Zinn sisters' sexuality, impulsivity, and rude rejection of the mores of their time, A Bloodsmoor Romance is a delicious filigree of literary conventions, “a novel of manners in the tradition of Austen, Dickens, and Alcott which Oates turns on its head. Oates's dark romp interweaves murder and mayhem, ghosts, and abductions, substance abuse and gender identity, women's suffrage, the American spiritualist movement, and sexual aberration, as the Zinn sisters come into contact with some of the 19th century's greatest characters, from Mark Twain to Oscar Wilde. A biting assessment of the American landscape and a virtuosic transformation of a literary genre, A Bloodsmoor Romance is a compelling, hilarious, and magical anti-romance--Little Women by way of Stephen King.

Full Product Details

Author:   Professor of Humanities Joyce Carol Oates (Late of Brown University)
Publisher:   Ecco Press
Imprint:   Ecco Press
Dimensions:   Width: 13.60cm , Height: 3.40cm , Length: 20.20cm
Weight:   0.590kg
ISBN:  

9780062269195


ISBN 10:   0062269194
Pages:   752
Publication Date:   22 October 2013
Audience:   General/trade ,  General
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active
Availability:   In stock   Availability explained
We have confirmation that this item is in stock with the supplier. It will be ordered in for you and dispatched immediately.

Table of Contents

Reviews

Author Information

Joyce Carol Oates is a recipient of the National Medal of Humanities, the National Book Critics Circle Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award, the National Book Award, and the PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in Short Fiction, and has been several times nominated for the Pulitzer Prize. She has written some of the most enduring fiction of our time, including the national bestsellers We Were the Mulvaneys, Blonde, which was nominated for the National Book Award, and the New York Times bestseller The Falls, which won the 2005 Prix Femina. Her most recent novel is A Book of American Martyrs. She is the Roger S. Berlind Distinguished Professor of the Humanities at Princeton University and has been a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters since 1978.

Tab Content 6

Author Website:  

Customer Reviews

Recent Reviews

No review item found!

Add your own review!

Countries Available

All regions
Latest Reading Guide

 

MD

Shopping Cart
Your cart is empty
Shopping cart
Mailing List