The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman

Author:   Mindy Mejia
Publisher:   Quercus Publishing
ISBN:  

9781784295950


Pages:   352
Publication Date:   24 August 2017
Format:   Paperback
Availability:   In stock   Availability explained
We have confirmation that this item is in stock with the supplier. It will be ordered in for you and dispatched immediately.

Our Price $19.99 Quantity:  
Add to Cart

Share |

The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman


Add your own review!

Overview

SUNDAY TIMES CRIME BOOK OF THE MONTH 'A haunting piece of fiction' 'Beautifully written . . . a future star in crime writing' Daily Mail 'A gripping mystery' Guardian No one keeps more secrets. No one is better at hiding them. Full of twists and turns, with an ending you will never see coming and characters that will stay with you long after the book is finished, THE LAST ACT OF HATTIE HOFFMAN is a gripping psychological mystery perfect for fans of Emma Cline's THE GIRLS and Clare Mackintosh's I SEE YOU. Eighteen-year-old Hattie Hoffman is a talented actress, loved by everyone in her Minnesotan hometown. When she's found stabbed to death on the opening night of her school play, the tragedy rips through the fabric of the community. Sheriff Del Goodman, a close friend of Hattie's dad, vows to find her killer, but the investigation yields more secrets than answers: it turns out Hattie played as many parts offstage as on. Told from three perspectives, Del's, Hattie's high school English teacher and Hattie herself, THE LAST ACT OF HATTIE HOFFMAN tells the story of the Hattie behind the masks, and what happened in that final year of her life. . . Wonderfully evocative of its Midwestern setting and with a cast of unforgettable characters, this is a book about manipulation of relationships and identity; about the line between innocence and culpability; about the hope love offers and the tragedies that occur when it spins out of control.

Full Product Details

Author:   Mindy Mejia
Publisher:   Quercus Publishing
Imprint:   Quercus Publishing
Dimensions:   Width: 12.90cm , Height: 2.10cm , Length: 19.80cm
Weight:   0.245kg
ISBN:  

9781784295950


ISBN 10:   1784295957
Pages:   352
Publication Date:   24 August 2017
Audience:   General/trade ,  General
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active
Availability:   In stock   Availability explained
We have confirmation that this item is in stock with the supplier. It will be ordered in for you and dispatched immediately.

Table of Contents

Reviews

An exquisitely written look at the claustrophobic nature of small town life, Mindy Mejia has created an atmospheric psychological thriller, with a central character who will live on in your thoughts after the last page is turned -- Sinead Crowley, author of Can Anybody Help Me? and Are You Watching Me? Mindy Mejia peels away the layers of a small-town crime of passion to leave your heart aching. Sheriff Del Goodman brings a war-weary humanity to a murder investigation that confronts youthful arrogance and presumption, a fear of settling for too little and the tragic force of love. A brilliant crime thriller -- Isabelle Grey, author of Out of Sight, The Bad Mother and Shot Through the Heart Outstanding ... quietly breathtaking NZ Herald


An exquisitely written look at the claustrophobic nature of small town life, Mindy Mejia has created an atmospheric psychological thriller, with a central character who will live on in your thoughts after the last page is turned - Sinead Crowley Mindy Mejia peels away the layers of a small-town crime of passion to leave your heart aching. Sheriff Del Goodman brings a war-weary humanity to a murder investigation that confronts youthful arrogance and presumption, a fear of settling for too little and the tragic force of love. A brilliant crime thriller - Isabelle Grey Outstanding . . . quietly breathtaking - NZ Herald Exploits conventional ideas about female manipulation, only to challenge them as the novel unfolds . . . a haunting piece of fiction, full of characters whose self-obsession leads directly to tragedy - Sunday Times - Crime Book of the Month


Exploits conventional ideas about female manipulation only to challenge them ... a haunting piece of fiction, full of characters whose self-obsession leads to tragedy Sunday Times Crime Book of the Month Beautifully told, it is Mejia's first book to be published in Britain and announces her as a future star in crime writing Daily Mail A gripping mystery Guardian An exquisitely written look at the claustrophobic nature of small town life, Mindy Mejia has created an atmospheric psychological thriller, with a central character who will live on in your thoughts after the last page is turned -- Sinead Crowley, author of Can Anybody Help Me? and Are You Watching Me? Mindy Mejia peels away the layers of a small-town crime of passion to leave your heart aching. Sheriff Del Goodman brings a war-weary humanity to a murder investigation that confronts youthful arrogance and presumption, a fear of settling for too little and the tragic force of love. A brilliant crime thriller -- Isabelle Grey, author of Out of Sight, The Bad Mother and Shot Through the Heart A brilliantly written and intuitive character study ... at turns heartbreaking and cruelly ironic, a really intense piece of storytelling that digs deep Liz Loves Books Outstanding ... quietly breathtaking NZ Herald


Author Information

Mindy Mejia received her MFA from Hamline University and published her first novel, The Dragon Keepers, with Ashland Creek Press. She lives and writes in Minnesota. The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman is her first book to be published in the UK.

Tab Content 6

Author Website:  

Customer Reviews

Recent Reviews

No review item found!

Add your own review!

Countries Available

All regions
Mother's Day Reading Guide

 

Flowers in a vase on top of a stack of books on a catalogue cover

Shopping Cart
Your cart is empty
Shopping cart
Mailing List