The Accusation

Author:   Wendy James
Publisher:   HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd
ISBN:  

9781460752388


Publication Date:   20 May 2019
Format:   Paperback
Availability:   In stock   Availability explained
We have confirmation that this item is in stock with the supplier. It will be ordered in for you and dispatched immediately.

Our Price $29.99 Quantity:  
Add to Cart

Share |

The Accusation


Add your own review!

Overview

Somebody is lying. After eighteen-year-old Ellie Canning is found shivering and barely conscious on a country road, her bizarre story of kidnap and escape enthrals the nation. Who would do such a thing? And why? Local drama teacher Suzannah Wells, once a minor celebrity, is new to town. Suddenly she's in the spotlight again, accused of being the monster who drugged and bound a teenager in her basement. As stories about her past emerge, even those closest to her begin to doubt her innocence. And Ellie? The media can't get enough of her. She's a girl-power icon, a social-media star. But is she telling the truth? A powerful exploration of the fragility of trust and the loss of innocence, from the author of The Golden Child and The Mistake. PRAISE 'James brilliantly takes this historical true crime and updates it to the internet age' Cameron Woodhead, Sydney Morning Herald 'This satisfying novel perfectly captures our current world, saturated by social media, obsessed by beautiful victims and easily identified villains, and quick to judge and condemn ... This is a gripping novel with plenty of twists, underpinned by acute observations about society.' Good Reading magazine 'The Accusation will grip you from page one ... Intelligent, suspenseful, and masterfully paced, with a killer twist in the tail, The Accusation is domestic noir at its best, perfect for fans of Adele Parks, Caroline Overington and Liane Moriarty' Better Reading 'The Accusation is Australian crime writing at its best, showcasing the great talent of Australian women writers out there today. It deserves all the hype! A brilliant book, very highly recommended.' But Books are Better blog 'The way the book was structured really gave it an inventive feel ... Highly recommended' Katrina Ferguson and Kathryn Ryan, Radio New Zealand PRAISE FOR THE GOLDEN CHILD 'The novel is cleverly constructed, the characters are extremely well-drawn, the use of social media as a plot device is very sophisticated, and the resolution is a genuine surprise' Judges' report, Ned Kelly Crime Awards, 2017 'This is domestic noir at its most intelligent and sharp' Sydney Morning Herald 'It takes 48 hours to pulse through Wendy James' rollercoaster 21st century story about parenting' Australian Women's Weekly 'an engaging and intimate read that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Jodi Picoult, with nods to Lionel Shriver and Christos Tsiolkas' The Slap . . . 4 Stars' Books & Publishing 'This book is utterly brilliant' Nicola Moriarty'

Full Product Details

Author:   Wendy James
Publisher:   HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd
Imprint:   HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd
Dimensions:   Width: 15.50cm , Height: 2.80cm , Length: 23.50cm
Weight:   0.426kg
ISBN:  

9781460752388


ISBN 10:   1460752384
Publication Date:   20 May 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  General
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active
Availability:   In stock   Availability explained
We have confirmation that this item is in stock with the supplier. It will be ordered in for you and dispatched immediately.

Table of Contents

Reviews

Author Information

Tab Content 6

Author Website:  

Customer Reviews

Recent Reviews

No review item found!

Add your own review!

Countries Available

All regions
Spring Reading Guide

 

Spring Reading Guide catalogue for book recommendations

Shopping Cart
Your cart is empty
Shopping cart
Mailing List