Song of the Dead: An eerie Scottish murder mystery (DI Westphall 1)

Author:   Douglas Lindsay
Publisher:   Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN:  

9781473696914


Pages:   416
Publication Date:   07 February 2019
Format:   Paperback
Availability:   To order   Availability explained
Stock availability from the supplier is unknown. We will order it for you and ship this item to you once it is received by us.

Our Price $22.99 Quantity:  
Add to Cart

Share |

Song of the Dead: An eerie Scottish murder mystery (DI Westphall 1)


Add your own review!

Overview

DI WESTPHALL. No ordinary detective. No ordinary investigations. A twisting new crime series set in the Scottish Highlands. For fans of Stephen King, James Oswald and John Connolly. Detective Ben Westphall has been given his latest case because of his background in MI6. But it's his ability to see every angle - even the impossible ones - that will help him in this investigation. John Baden has come back from the dead. His parents and girlfriend identified his body twelve years ago. Yet he's just walked into a police station, very much alive. Baden's story sounds far-fetched - but it's all about to get much, much stranger. Westphall travels from the Highlands to Estonia in order to delve into Baden's murky past. But when his suspects start dying, Westphall realises someone is killing to cover up the truth. He'll have to question everything he's been told, before there's no one left to ask. 'A darkly atmospheric thriller with a labyrinthine plot with more twists than a Grand Prix track' - Michael Wood, author of the DCI Matilda Darke series **************** What readers are saying about SONG OF THE DEAD 'A brilliantly written, dark and twisting read . . . a step above the usual crime thrillers' 'Excellent book! Loved the characters and it was a great storyline' 'Completely wonderful . . . Really recommend, and I'll be looking for other titles by this author' 'Clever plotting which kept me turning the pages'

Full Product Details

Author:   Douglas Lindsay
Publisher:   Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Imprint:   Mulholland Books
Dimensions:   Width: 12.90cm , Height: 2.60cm , Length: 19.80cm
Weight:   0.288kg
ISBN:  

9781473696914


ISBN 10:   1473696917
Pages:   416
Publication Date:   07 February 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  General
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active
Availability:   To order   Availability explained
Stock availability from the supplier is unknown. We will order it for you and ship this item to you once it is received by us.

Table of Contents

Reviews

Richly atmospheric . . . Lindsay solidifies his place as one of the rising stars of tartan noir - Publishers Weekly A darkly atmospheric thriller with a labyrinthine plot with more twists than a Grand Prix track. A really addictive plot, and so atmospheric. Clever and unexpected A Tartan Noir tour de force. Lindsay writes with an economy and skill all too rare in modern fiction . . . Brilliant


A Tartan Noir tour de force. Lindsay writes with an economy and skill all too rare in modern fiction . . . Brilliant -- Tony Black, author of the DI Bob Valentine series on Song of the Dead Boy in the Well is a dark and satisfying mystery. I thoroughly enjoyed my time in the company of DI Ben Westphall, a compelling personality. I look forward to his next instalment. This one comes thoroughly recommended -- James Oswald on Boy in the Well Richly atmospheric . . . Lindsay solidifies his place as one of the rising stars of tartan noir * Publishers Weekly on Song of the Dead * Praise for Douglas Lindsay and the DI Westphall series * - *


Author Information

Douglas Lindsay was born in Scotland in 1964, at 2:38 am. Thirty-five years of little note ensued, before the world heralded the publication of his first book, The Long Midnight of Barney Thomson, which was adapted was adapted for the screen starring Robert Carlyle, Ray Winstone and Emma Thompson. As he was leaving the house to undertake a public engagement for the first time, his wife kissed him on the cheek and said, 'Whatever you do, don't be yourself...' Sadly, Lindsay continues to ignore her advice to this day. Lindsay worked at the Ministry of Defence for over ten years and is married to a diplomat. He has lived in Dakar, Belgrade, Warsaw and Tallinn, an experience that inspired Song of the Dead. He now lives and writes full time in Somerset with his wife and their two children. Find him on Twitter at @DTSLindsay.

Tab Content 6

Author Website:  

Customer Reviews

Recent Reviews

No review item found!

Add your own review!

Countries Available

All regions
Mother's Day Reading Guide

 

Flowers in a vase on top of a stack of books on a catalogue cover

Shopping Cart
Your cart is empty
Shopping cart
Mailing List