Saving Francesca

Author:   Melina Marchetta
Publisher:   Random House USA Inc
ISBN:  

9780375829833


Pages:   243
Publication Date:   09 May 2006
Format:   Paperback
Availability:   In Print   Availability explained
Limited stock is available. It will be ordered for you and shipped pending supplier's limited stock.

Our Price $13.12 Quantity:  
Add to Cart

Share |

Saving Francesca


Add your own review!

Overview

Before there was Eleanor and Park, there was Francesca and Will. A compelling story of romance, family, and friendship, with humor and heart, perfect for fans of If I Stay, The Spectacular Now, and Looking for Alaska. Francesca is stuck at St. Sebastian's, a boys' school that pretends it's coed by giving the girls their own bathroom. Her only female companions are an ultra-feminist, a rumored slut, and an impossibly dorky accordion player. The boys are no better, from Thomas, who specializes in musical burping, to Will, the perpetually frowning, smug moron that Francesca can't seem to stop thinking about. Then there's Francesca's mother, who always thinks she knows what's best for Francesca--until she is suddenly stricken with acute depression, leaving Francesca lost, alone, and without an inkling of who she really is. Simultaneously humorous, poignant, and impossible to put down, this is the story of a girl who must summon the strength to save her family, her social life, and--hardest of all--herself. Melina Marchetta is the Printz-winning author of Jellicoe Road, as well as Looking for Alibrandi and Finnikin of the Rock.

Full Product Details

Author:   Melina Marchetta
Publisher:   Random House USA Inc
Imprint:   Random House Inc
Dimensions:   Width: 14.00cm , Height: 1.50cm , Length: 20.60cm
Weight:   0.227kg
ISBN:  

9780375829833


ISBN 10:   0375829830
Pages:   243
Publication Date:   09 May 2006
Audience:   Young adult ,  Teenage / Young adult
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Unknown
Availability:   In Print   Availability explained
Limited stock is available. It will be ordered for you and shipped pending supplier's limited stock.

Table of Contents

Reviews

Sparkling dialogue and engaging characters...Francesca's messy, credible array of emotions and problems will keep readers absorbed to the last, satisfying line. -- Kirkus Reviews , Starred A rich exploration of maturation, identity, family, and friendship. --The Bulletin, Starred Readers will applaud the realistic complexity in the relationships here, the genuine love between the characters, as well as Francesca's ultimate decision to save herself. -- Publishers Weekly , Starred Teens will relate to this tender novel and will take to heart its solid messages and realistic treatment of a very real problem. -- School Library Journal , Starred From the Hardcover edition.


A rich exploration of maturation, identity, family, and friendship. --The Bulletin, Starred


Author Information

<b>Melina Marchetta</b> lives in Sydney, Australia, where she is a teacher. She is also the author of <i>Looking for Alibrandi</i>, which received numerous awards and was released as a major Australian film. <i>Saving Francesca</i> is her second novel.

Tab Content 6

Author Website:  

Customer Reviews

Recent Reviews

No review item found!

Add your own review!

Countries Available

All regions
Shopping Cart
Your cart is empty
Shopping cart

Facebook