A River in the Trees

Author:   Jacqueline O'Mahony
Publisher:   Quercus Publishing
ISBN:  

9781787473539


Pages:   336
Publication Date:   08 January 2019
Format:   Paperback
Availability:   In stock   Availability explained
We have confirmation that this item is in stock with the supplier. It will be ordered in for you and dispatched immediately.

Our Price $32.99 Quantity:  
Add to Cart

Share |

A River in the Trees


Add your own review!

Overview

Two women. Two stories. One hundred years of secrets. A sweeping novel of love, loss, family and history for readers who love Maggie O'Farrell, John Boyne and Donal Ryan 'Thrilling, thoughtful, passionate' Daily Mail 'Beautiful, unsentimental, intelligent' The Times 1919 Ireland is about to be torn apart by the War of Independence. Hannah O'Donovan helps her father hide rebel soldiers in the attic, putting her family in great danger from the British soldiers who roam the countryside. An immediate connection between Hannah and O'Riada, the leader of this hidden band of rebels, will change her life and that of her family forever . . . 2019 Ellen is at a crossroads: her marriage is in trouble, her career is over and she's grieving the loss of a baby. After years in London, she decides to come home to Ireland to face the things she's tried so hard to escape. Reaching into the past, she feels a connection to her ancestor, the mysterious Hannah O'Donovan. But why won't anyone in her family talk about Hannah? And how can this journey help Ellen put her life back together? 'A gripping novel about two women, their desires and frustrations, about the wars they find themselves fighting . . . a thrill to discover' Belinda McKeon 'A fierce, beautifully written story' Louise O'Neill

Full Product Details

Author:   Jacqueline O'Mahony
Publisher:   Quercus Publishing
Imprint:   riverrun
Dimensions:   Width: 15.30cm , Height: 2.70cm , Length: 23.10cm
Weight:   0.428kg
ISBN:  

9781787473539


ISBN 10:   1787473538
Pages:   336
Publication Date:   08 January 2019
Audience:   General/trade ,  General
Format:   Paperback
Publisher's Status:   Active
Availability:   In stock   Availability explained
We have confirmation that this item is in stock with the supplier. It will be ordered in for you and dispatched immediately.

Table of Contents

Reviews

A fierce, beautifully told story, which keeps the reader gripped until the very last page. Jacqueline O'Mahony is one to watch -- Louise O'Neill A gripping novel about two women, about their desires and frustrations, about the wars they find themselves fighting, whether on the ground or in their minds. Jacqueline O'Mahony writes brilliantly of what it is like to be in trouble, to be uncertain and alone, and to have to confront hard realities. Compassionate yet unsentimental, sharply insightful yet steeped in story, this debut is a thrill to discover. -- Belinda McKeon


A gripping novel about two women, about their desires and frustrations, about the wars they find themselves fighting, whether on the ground or in their minds. Jacqueline O'Mahony writes brilliantly of what it is like to be in trouble, to be uncertain and alone, and to have to confront hard realities. Compassionate yet unsentimental, sharply insightful yet steeped in story, this debut is a thrill to discover. A fierce, beautifully told story, which keeps the reader gripped until the very last page. Jacqueline O'Mahony is one to watch


Author Information

Jacqueline O'Mahony is from, Cork, Ireland. She did her BA in Ireland, her MA at the University of Bologna, and her PhD in History as a Fulbright Scholar at Duke University, and at Boston College. She has worked as a writer, editor and stylist at Tatler, Vogue and the Irish Independent. She lives in Notting Hill with her husband and three young children.

Tab Content 6

Author Website:  

Customer Reviews

Recent Reviews

No review item found!

Add your own review!

Countries Available

All regions
Summer Reading Guides

 

  

Shopping Cart
Your cart is empty
Shopping cart
Mailing List